January 8-14 - PedalPushin 2024 - CycleBlaze

January 8, 2024 to January 14, 2024

January 8-14

Week 2 is much like week 1 … lots of indoor riding and counting down the days until we catch the plane for warmer, sunny lands. It probably doesn’t help the waiting watching one of our “Alaskan adopted” daughters fly south towards Hawaii for 10 days but at least we are in the season where we gain 4 1/2 - 5 minutes of sunlight per day. I also got to wear my new Christmas shirt this week as we watched the granddaughters do circles around the garage on their first recumbent trike. 

In celebration of our newest trike addition, a Trident Half-Pint for the granddaughters. aka The Little Grasshopper
Heart 2 Comment 0

I have great hopes for the Lil’ Grasshopper and am already starting research into the next level of trike to encourage my future riding partners.   Meanwhile outside we did get to “see” the sun today which was nice except it sits so low on the horizon folks actually wear sunglasses in order to stay on the roads. 

High noon in Fairbanks, Alaska. Sun came out today for just under 5 hours.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have also started building an overview gpx file of the various paths, streets, etc. in Tucson which will get loaded on my phone but also my Apple Watch. We don’t use any type of cycling gps/computer as it is one more item to mount but rather a simple app on the watch which provides the same information and routing capabilities, Workoutdoors. The interface is fairly simple and the process of finding a gpx route, sending it to my phone and then sending it to my watch takes just a few minutes. In addition, if needed I can do this when riding if something perks my interest along the way. The app (watch) also does not require my phone for connectivity which means I do not run down the battery on my phone. Once thr ride is over, I simply upload the ride to my Ridewithgps account for recording g but also for others in the future. 

We did end this week with a one day gain of 6 minutes of sunlight … progress is being made. Time for another indoor ride … sigh. 

Today's ride: 202 miles (325 km)
Total: 423 miles (681 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kelly IniguezScott and Rachael are good to explore different routes in town. He encourage me to try Treat Street - https://ridewithgps.com/routes/45305408

I've only ridden it twice, for lack of opportunity, but it's going to be a regular of mine. I can suggest this one with confidence!

I think you said you are staying at Rita Ranch? That is right on this route.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Larry MitchellThank you … looks like a nice way to bypass the VA block and the resident population. Are there any other cross Tucson connectors you use?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago