Drive to La Grande - Exploring Northeast Oregon 2023 - CycleBlaze

Drive to La Grande

I was fully packed on the evening of September 4. I laid out all the gear in the back yard to take a photo.

Everything neatly packed for a 13 day bike tour.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltWell-worn panniers :)
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Wayne EstesThe panniers are 2 years older than the bike.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago

Then I loaded my car to speed the morning departure. The bike easily fits in my Prius without removing a wheel but I can't carry a passenger.

Ready to drive to La Grande, Oregon.
Heart 0 Comment 0

On September 5 I drove my Prius 430 miles from my house in southwest Oregon to La Grande in northeast Oregon. It's a fast drive because the entire route is on I-5 and I-84 expressways.

I stopped for lunch in The Dalles which is about the halfway point of the drive. My favorite Mexican food truck had moved a couple blocks to a newly built food truck court.

Lunch stop in The Dalles.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezHow did you find out the lunch truck had moved? I would have presumed they were out of business.

Taco trucks are my favorite!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Wayne EstesI did a Google restaurant search and found the food truck 2 blocks from the old location in a new food truck court. The new food truck court has room for several trucks, but it had only 2 trucks and La Fogata was the only one open.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

My final stop was at Pendleton Woolen Mills in Pendleton. The store was much better stocked than during my previous visit in May. Thousands of deep-pockets rodeo fans will arrive next week. The rodeo admission price is $285 for each of 9 events. Visitors able and willing to buy rodeo tickets are also likely to buy $139 Pendleton shirts.

Historic Pendleton Woolen Mills in Pendleton, Oregon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Graffiti on the Cycle Oregon bike rack modifies the Round-Up's "Let 'Er Buck" slogan.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I bought a Canyon western shirt from the clearance rack to add to my huge Pendleton collection of 8 wool shirts, 5 cotton shirts, 4 vintage wool jackets, and a wool Chief Joseph blanket. 

The sheep are raised in northeast Oregon. The wool thread and fabric are made at the 1909 woolen mills in Pendleton. But the garments are no longer made in USA. Now most of the shirts are cut and sewn in Mexico.

I bought a wool Canyon western shirt from the clearance rack for a mere $92.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After the stop in Pendleton I continued driving the last hour to La Grande with a huge climb over the Blue mountains. Pine trees were a welcome sight after driving 200 miles through low desert.

I arrived in La Grande at 5:15 PM and got my reserved room for 2 nights at The Landing, a boutique hotel built in 1900. Dinner at the nearby Cock and Bull restaurant.

The 430 mile drive went really well. No traffic backups getting through Portland. No crash or construction backups. My Prius got only 47.5 miles per gallon because the Columbia river gorge didn't have the usual roaring tailwind. 

Temperature was a bit cooler than normal. High of 77F in the low desert near Pendleton but cooler in the high desert at La Grande. The first two days of the tour are predicted to have cooler than normal temperatures.

Downtown La Grande, Oregon.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezI just barely see the movie theatre there!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Wayne EstesThere's more theatre views later.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

I walked around downtown La Grande, mindful that I will see the town several times during this tour. I will spend a total of 4 nights in La Grande. It's the hub of my multi-loop Northeast Oregon bike tour.

City Hall entrance in La Grande.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I noticed that the city of La Grande also promotes itself as the hub of northeast Oregon.

Heart 0 Comment 0
La Grande.
Heart 0 Comment 0
La Grande.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezAh, now the marquee is lit up.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
La Grande.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This old theatre is in early stages of restoration.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezNo marquee?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Wayne EstesNo Marquee. I suspect it was a performing arts theatre.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
La Grande.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Home for the next two nights is The Landing, a boutique hotel on the south edge of downtown La Grande. It has 5 rooms, all with private baths. My room is upstairs facing the rear, with a busy railroad track 1 block away. The trains don't blow horns but the engine noise and squealing metal is still very loud.

Home for the next 2 nights, built in 1900.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My room at The Landing in La Grande.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltNice accommodations you had at The Landing. :)
Reply to this comment
6 months ago

The owners of The Landing also own a coffee shop across the street in a recently renovated historic Texaco gas station.

The Local is a coffee, bakery, and ice cream shop in a former Texaco station.
Heart 3 Comment 0

In the evening I sat on the front balcony and watched the street below while contemplating the upcoming bike tour. The pedaling begins tomorrow morning.

Twilight on the balcony overlooking the main street.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mike AylingHow do you carry your bike on/in your Prius?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Wayne EstesThe bike fits inside the Prius with both wheel attached. But there is no room for a passenger. The previous journal shows a picture of my bike inside the Prius. My recumbent bike is longer than upright bikes.
https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/highdesertrivers/drive-home-b20/
Reply to this comment
9 months ago