Cyclist and Bike - Exploring Northeast Oregon 2023 - CycleBlaze

Cyclist and Bike

I'm 62 years old. Not a gifted athlete, not disciplined about training, and not a nutritional role model, but I'm determined to do bicycle tours. This is my 52nd independent bike tour since 1988. My Profile page has a list of all the tours.

I weigh about 190 pounds when dressed and fed. The bike weighs 58-70 pounds depending on how much water and food I carry.

May 2022 during my Brigham Young's Promised Land tour.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The bike is a 2007 Bacchetta Giro 20 short wheelbase recumbent that I have pedaled more than 65,000 miles. Under the seat are a Terracycle underseat rack and heavily worn Arkel RT-40 recumbent panniers. 40mm wide Schwalbe Marathon Racer tires work well on pavement and gravel. The lowest gear is very low. 24 tooth chainring and 34 tooth rear cog driving a 26 inch rear wheel.

In 1990 I bought a laminated and mounted U.S. map to mark my bike tour routes with a Sharpie marker. 33 years later I'm still adding routes.

Bike tours have taken me to all 50 U.S. states plus Nova Scotia, Alberta, British Columbia, and New Zealand.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltGreat you've done so many bike tours!! :) I'm going to enjoy reading your journals. :)
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Wayne EstesNice to meet you Charmaine. I hope you enjoy the journals. I try to include information that other cyclists would want to know. I notice you have done a lot of bike tours but have no journals posted here. You might have fun creating a journal that is a digest of all your tours similar to my 1988-2002 Bike Tours "journal" which has one page per tour, with the route map, a couple photos, and a little bit of text for each tour. You could also upload your favorite bike tour self-portraits to your Profile page. Or just scenic pictures of your touring bike if you're in the Witness Protection Program. Food for thought... Thanks for all the comments!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago

I'm not much of a global traveler but I have traveled extensively in the United States. I have pedaled through almost every region but the map reveals that my main interest is the western third of the U.S.

My Profile Page has 34 bike tour journals, plus a summary journal of the first 18 tours.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0