Future Plans - Exploring Northeast Oregon 2023 - CycleBlaze

Future Plans

I have two bike tours planned for 2024.

Sierra Nevada Wildfires

In May 2024 I plan to do a Sierra Nevada Wildfires theme tour that is 6 travel days and 1 rest day. The tour starts in Susanville which is in the Great Basin east of the Sierra Nevada. The tour ends in Chico which is in the Sacramento Valley west of the Sierra Nevada. The original idea was a loop tour but I concluded that a loop has too much daily climbing. Instead I planned a 1-way tour that starts at 4200 feet and ends at 200 feet elevation.

The eastern part of the route travels through the aftermath of the 2021 Dixie fire which was the second largest wildfire in California history, burning nearly 1 million acres. The western part of the route travels through the aftermath of the 2018 Camp fire which was the deadliest and most financially destructive wildfire in California history, burning nearly all of the city of Paradise. Most of the route is intact forest but portions of the route go through scenes of wildfire destruction and renewal.

The tour begins on the 25.4 mile unpaved Bizz Johnson National Recreation Trail which crests the Sierra Nevada on a gentle rail grade. The tour route stays in the northernmost Sierra Nevada range but has views of Mt. Lassen, the southernmost volcano in the Cascade range. The middle of the route goes down North Fork Feather river in a remote canyon. The tour ends with an out and back canyon trail excursion from downtown Chico to Upper Bidwell Park.

Susanville doesn't have Enterprise Rent a Car, so the cheapest transportation option is to drive my car to Susanville, then drive a U Haul box truck 105 miles from Chico back to Susanville.

Heart 0 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezWe enjoyed this section of the Sierra Cascades route. You will get some good photographs.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago

High Desert Rivers

In July 2024 I hope to ride the High Desert Rivers east of the Continental Divide. Dubois, Wyoming to Dillon, Montana. 15 travel days and 3 rest days. I'm waiting until July because it typically has fewer storms than June.

This route follows all the major rivers that flow from the Yellowstone supervolcano region towards the Atlantic ocean. The route goes down the Wind/Bighorn river, up the Shoshone river, down Clarks Fork Yellowstone river, up the Yellowstone river, down the Gallatin river, and up the Jefferson and Beaverhead rivers. I would take a short detour to see the Missouri river begin at the confluence of the Gallatin and Jefferson rivers.

This tour is even farther from home than the Snake river tour. I plan to park my car in Dubois, Wyoming. Then after the tour I would drive a U Haul box truck 300 miles from Dillon, Montana to Dubois.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I have some ideas in mind for 2025 and beyond. Two routes far from home and three routes close to home.

More High Desert Rivers

This route would be the third and final installment of a giant high desert rivers loop around the greater Yellowstone super-volcano. Late June 2025, maybe. Dillon, Montana to Twin Falls, Idaho. It starts by following the Big Hole river upstream to the Continental Divide. Then a big descent to the Salmon river which I will follow up to its headwaters. Then across Galena summit and down the Wood river to Twin Falls. I have pedaled 2/3 of this route previously, but don't mind doing it again. The route also passes by many hot springs.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Montana Loop

This route is an idea for September 2025. The loop tour would start and finish in Missoula, Montana. It duplicates some routes I pedaled way back in 1989, but is mostly unfamiliar territory for me. The route includes a day trip from West Glacier to Going to the Sun highway, but I wouldn't go to the summit. The route also includes a loop through the Flathead Indian Reservation to visit hot springs.

Heart 0 Comment 0

For me this route would be 11 travel days with rest days in Big Fork, Whitefish, and Hot Springs.

Mt. Hood Loop

I would like to do this route in 2026 after the final tunnel and cliff segment of the Historic Columbia River Highway bike trail is completed west of Hood River. A new trail segment opened recently, but cyclists still have to pedal 5 miles on I-84.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I have pedaled the Columbia Gorge route multiple times before but don't mind doing it again. The route includes urban sightseeing in Portland, Oregon City, and Vancouver, Washington. 

The route has so much climbing that the tour would be 9 travel days and 2 rest days. The route begins at the Portland Amtrak station. I plan to use the roll-on bike service from Eugene. I think they can handle my short wheelbase recumbent.

Oregon Coast Range

I planned this route years ago, but never got around to doing it. The route includes extensive tourist stops. Four covered bridges, three lighthouses, two ocean blowholes, and at least three hikes including the awesome hike to Cape Perpetua. The hikes are shown on the route map. I might visit the Oregon Coast Aquarium in Newport for the first time.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The tour would be 10 days, starting and finishing in Philomath. Overnights in Toledo, Depoe Bay (2 nights for rest), Newport (2 nights for a day trip), Yachats (2 nights for hiking), Waldport, and Alsea. 

The route goes up the Mary's river to a crest in the Coast Range, then down the Yaquina river to Toledo. Then over a hill and down the Siletz river to the ocean. Then 70 miles down the coast with several detours along the way. The return route follows the Alsea river through the Coast Range.

I have pedaled the coast twice before, but none of the inland routes. It should be fun to explore new inland routes and take many tourist stops on a somewhat familiar segment of the Pacific coast. I could do this route any time from June through September, but I think September would be best to have smaller crowds.

Astoria area loop

Still another route idea fairly close to home. This route would likely be 10 travel days, 1 hiking day, and 3 rest days. The plotted route starts in Astoria, but Banks is the preferred start/finish point. 

The route includes many historic and scenic stops around the mouth of the Columbia river. Also hikes on 3 capes that jut out into the Pacific ocean. Plus beach waterfalls, lighthouses, covered bridges, and historic forts.

Heart 0 Comment 0

7 planned future bike tours on my wish list...

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
George HallYou have some interesting future tours. Your Montana loop covers some ground that I was planning on riding last year until my plans got sidetracked a bit - still hope to ride it someday. FWIW, as part of that planning effort, I developed a couple of maps that may be of interest to you. My Condon to Bigfork map includes an alternative routing that gets you off the highway a bit; https://ridewithgps.com/routes/43092198, and my Bigfork to Whitefish map may be of some use to you as it also attempts to avoid the busier roadways; https://ridewithgps.com/routes/43098287. Since I've never ridden the route I can't vouch for them, but I did what study I could do using Google Earth and RWGPS street views. Looking forward to reading about your future tours,
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Wayne EstesTo George HallBuddy, thanks for the route suggestions. I modified my route to follow your back road suggestions south and north of Bigfork. But not the gravel road coming in to Big Fork because I would stay in a hilltop motel outside of the downtown area. I think the Montana loop will work well for me because the daily distances and daily ascent are well "balanced".
Reply to this comment
3 months ago