Day Two - Myakka Overnight - CycleBlaze

March 20, 2024

Day Two

The Ride Back

   The roosters began crowing about 4 am. After a restless night, I fortified myself with coffee and oatmeal, broke camp, replaced the water in the jugs and the firewood, packed and set off. I contemplated finding Oak Grove Road and taking a different route away from camp. But after 100 feet of sandy road, I gave up Plan A. Instead, I headed back the way I entered, riding the shoulder of the road. It intersected North Prairie, which was a mix of mud and sand and rideable for the most part. When North Prairie crossed the hiking trail, I took the trail west.

Heart 1 Comment 0

   While I was riding, I spied the tractor plowing the road along the northern border, kicking up a dust storm behind it. While riding through a wooded area where the brush was thick, a low-lying vine slashed across my neck. The thorns gave me three vertical scratches, le garrot. Karma, I guess, for riding on the hiking trail.

  I picked up the Bee Island Cross Trail. The impacted part of the trail was wider here since more walkers used this section. I hydrated at Bee Island Camp and rode Ranch House back toward the asphalt. I passed the first people I had seen all day. Some outdoorsy, hipster-looking guy was having a photoshoot. He wasn’t making it to Oak Grove.

   I booked along the asphalt to the pavilion near the front gate where my bride agreed to pick me up. I laid up at a picnic table and nearly fell asleep. For such low mileage, I was exhausted.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 11 miles (18 km)
Total: 23 miles (37 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0