The Idea, The Plan - Myakka Overnight - CycleBlaze

The Idea, The Plan

I’ve done  a bit of low key bikepacking in the Northeast. Now that I find myself wintering in Florida near Sarasota, I’ve ventured into nearby Myakka River State Park. Fifty-eight square miles of pinelands, prairies, oak/palm hammocks and wetlands. The riding can be challenging with the soft, tractionless sugar sand being an obstacle to forward propulsion.

   During an exploratory loop into the backcountry, I pedaled through a water hazard and pushed the bike through a couple hundred feet of sugar sand. I met Daniel at the Bee Line Primitive Campsite. Daniel was a kind Floridian with a wealth of knowledge. He was camping out after hiking a few miles into the site. Daniel showed me many things: that the rust-colored water coming out of the pump was undrinkable, that food hung from trees isn't safe from raccoons, that the coyotes are noisy at night, that the feral pigs are afraid of humans, that long pants are a good idea and that this vast prairie 10 miles from the edge of suburbia could be magical.

   My plan is to bicycle out to a primitive campsite, spend the night, test equipment and technique for this subtropical landscape. This will be a proof of concept for a larger trip in the Florida backcountry.

   Of note: you have to reserve the primitive campsites through the individual parks in Florida via phone or in person.

Gator Hole
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0