Ladghar to Guhagar - Mumbai to Goa - CycleBlaze

January 9, 2024

Ladghar to Guhagar

As usual a 7am start and as usual I got a little lost as the next place on my plan was Burundi.  I was expecting it to be where it was shown on Google Maps but the directiions I got felt wrong and I ended up in Burundi village while where I wanted to be was the Burundi statue.

Drawn on road for recent Hindu fedtival
Heart 1 Comment 0
Temple leaving Burundi
Heart 2 Comment 0
Burundi monument a few miles further on
Heart 3 Comment 0

Road NH4 still a single lane tarmac road with little traffic.  North-South travel is thankfully slowed by so many ferries, and I used the Dabhol car ferry today where my piece of rope came in useful to tie the bike to the ship’s side so the swell would not tip it.

It rained lasg night and is cooler with could cover so an easier day although I made a detour to  Anjanvel to the lighthouse and fort that added some climbs.  

Old ship in creek
Heart 2 Comment 0

 Strava showed 3500ft (in 36 miles). 

Dinner stop for fresh samosa and chai
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was not sure if he would have accepted Cripto?
Heart 3 Comment 0

Guhagar is on the sea shore. Beautiful empty beach. I rode back to it for a swim after finding a homestay.   The bike propped up well on the sand using a palm frond.   Sorry no photos.

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 180 miles (290 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Paul CalvertAre you aware of retraversing any of your previous route? Noticing any changes?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Leslie HarrisAn empty beach sounds wonderful. A great reward for all the hard cycling. You’re really pushing out the miles, very impressive Andy.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andy BuchanTo Paul CalvertHi Paul,
After 28 years all seems different. The ferry I used previously across Mumbai harbour was much smaller. Road signs now all km and in Hindi. New roads and bridges built…. Also so much new technology in use.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andy BuchanTo Leslie HarrisHi Les. I wish I had taken my phone to photograph the lone bike on the sand.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago