Chiplun to Ganpatipule - Mumbai to Goa - CycleBlaze

January 11, 2024

Chiplun to Ganpatipule

I started in convoy with Ram on his cycle and a friend of his, Ajit, on his Royal Enfield.   Following Ram made navigating the awakening city easy and they left me at the road back to the coast.    I climbed through morning mist to higher land with blue sky then turned South onto a beautiful tarmac road between mango and eucalyptus.

Perfect cycling country
Heart 4 Comment 0
My progress was being watched
Heart 7 Comment 0

.  I passed many small temples on the way to Tavsal ferry.

Typical small village temple
Heart 3 Comment 0

Road signs were not too easy.

Choose your route wisely
Heart 4 Comment 0

After the Tavsal ferry I climbed up to s ridge on NH4 and detoured to Jaigad fort.  This is a very solid building of stone but has later concrete on top, possibly when it was used as a fort in colonial times? 

I left NH4 for the coast and rode along a deserted Beach.

Empty beach
Heart 3 Comment 0
Beautiful beach to ride along
Heart 5 Comment 0

Rode 54 miles with no overheating problems, but time to stop at Ganpatipule by the beach.

View from Rs1000 (£10) beach house
Heart 3 Comment 0

Sadly the beach has oil pollution.  The beautiful light coloured sand has areas where the currents bring black oil particles together.  I hate to think how long this will take to recover or what it is doing to the marine environment.  It must be getting into the food chain.

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 268 miles (431 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesAre you doing better with the heat? Today does sound like you were not totally melted....
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andy BuchanTo Steve Miller/GrampiesHi Steve, yes I seem to be coping better, I put a note in the thread I started about overheating in the Forum
32c today according to internet
Regards. Andy
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Andy BuchanSo glad to hear this. Besides being unpleasant and hard to cope with, overheating can be seriously bad for your health.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago