Olivenza to Santa Marta de los Barros - Spring in Iberia - CycleBlaze

April 15, 2024

Olivenza to Santa Marta de los Barros

A day without mishaps. The plan worked perfectly. Scott found the car, not easy on the giant parking lot but he managed, and when he took off the front wheel his bike fit and there was no need to mount the bike rack, which would have been somewhat of a challenge if you had never done it before. He arrived in Santa Marta after picking up Janos in Olivenza, at 3:30 and they were in time for a meal before the hotel's dining room closed.

Rachael and I had a hot but enjoyable ride. We kept up a good pace because Rachael is a strong rider and I have an e-bike. We got to the hotel in plenty of time for a mid-day meal and we dawdled enough over our desserts that we were still at the table when Scott and Janos arrived.

Olivenza's fortified city walls - the only view of Olivenza that I got. There was just too much excitement yesterday for me to go out and look around.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Sheep, sheep, sheep
Heart 6 Comment 0
So many purple fields and I'm still stopping for pictures - and posting them.
Heart 10 Comment 3
Rich FrasierLuckily for us! They’re beautiful!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Karen PoretTo Rich FrasierAgreed! Gorgeous!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Charmaine RuppoltI've never seen a big field of purple flowers like that. :) Lovely!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Rachael preferred to have her panniers with her and not leave them for Janos to take in the car. I rode without my panniers.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI love this photo of me!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I couldn't resist yet another.
Heart 7 Comment 0
The poppies here seem to be especially brilliant.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltAnd the contrasting blue burgloss really adds some zing!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks, Bill. Now I know what they are called. I have just been saying pretty purple flowers.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
That's San Miguel de Esmero again that we rode past yesterday.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rachael is checking her Garmin to see what climbs are coming up.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A call from Scott - he made it to Estremoz and is on his way to Olivenza to get Janos.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rows and rows of grape vines
Heart 5 Comment 0
A new color on the palette
Heart 5 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltWow - pretty pink flowers! Kind of look like poppies?
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Charmaine RuppoltMaybe some kind of morning glory
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago

After all this excitement overload, I no longer even considered catching up with my journal. I went to bed and hoped for a good night's sleep.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 km (29 miles)
Total: 647 km (402 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rachael AndersonGreat photos and write-up! Scott didn’t give anything away in his post.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauI read Scott's version of the coincidental meet-up a little while ago. Now I know the WHOLE story.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jacquie GaudetGreat story! Now I’m waiting to see what the bike problem was, as I suppose is Janos.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Jacquie GaudetFinally getting back to you, Jacquie. The part is in the Shimano MT410-B rear hub. I'm not sure about the definition of the part, but the translation I found was retaining pawl. (Freilauf Sperrklinke in German). It works on the principle of a ratchet.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago