Alice - Three Rivers - The Yeti Rides Again - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2023

Alice - Three Rivers

Today started out great ,good nights sleep.Got on the bike at 7:45 with a camping destination in mind.At the 38 mile mark all that changed.I got a flat,no big deal,right. Well no,It turned in to an ordeal. suffice to say I should have changed the rear tire when I changed the front one.All the problems of changing the front one and then some,The rim strip broke while I was working to get  tire off the rim,Something I had forgotten the same thing happened with the front tire change.Here we are on the side of the road ,Me literally tearing the tire apart to remove it from the rim ,and the rim strip breaks. I don't have a rim strip the one I bought for it is at home .Electrical tape to the rescue ,At least I think it will work.Two wraps of Electrical tape,push the tube valve through ,and here's hoping this will get me to San Antonio.The tubes I use have removable valves,this will be important in a minute. I use this type of tubes so I can put sealant in the tube.Back to the story. I pumped up the tire with my trusty mini pump,left the pump attached to the valve to make sure it would hold air. I'm picking up my stuff and putting said stuff away . Back to the tire checked it ,It seems to be working.I put another 30 pumps in the tire,it's firm great, Unscrew the pump,and the valve comes out with it.Another thing to remember tighten the valves.So I put the valve back in and tighten it.Then it's back to pumping the tire back up it's a mini pump it takes for ever.It gets the job ,but it's a workout.Did I mention I was in the Shade and had a breeze. Well slight change of plans,no camping for me ,at least not yet.Off to a bike shop in San Antonio.I absolutely have to make it there  tomorrow, Because it's Saturday .I don't to be waiting until Monday Morning. The rest of the day was great,But hot as a pistol.

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 213 miles (343 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0