Ruston to Delhi,LA - The Yeti Rides Again - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2023

Ruston to Delhi,LA

Final day, End of journal

I got going as early as possible ,I think about six thirty.It was going to be a long ride .I decided to continue on US 80 same as yesterday. I assumed from the previous days it would be hilly all day long.The first thirty or so miles were somewhat hilly,with an occasional steep hill thrown in for good measure. The road surface was horrible except for the last twenty five miles.This state doesn't spend much money on roads,I had a pleasant conversation with a young man about that. I stopped in front his house  to take a break he asked if I needed water or anything ,these are the interactions that make these trips fulfilling .He said he'd seen me earlier in the morning and was surprised how far I'd come.He also helped me with the pronunciation of my destination it's pronounced Del-hi. 

It's with some sadness That this will be my last entry.I'm going to pull the plug on this trip. It's not just one thing, It's many ,The main reason is I'm just not having fun,It's getting to be a slog every day. My time on Louisiana roads hasn't helped ,my body just hurts. I've met some wonderful people along the way, and I will cherish those memories. Some may ask why not just hang for a few days and take a little break.The truth is I really don't think it would help just prolong the inevitable.

Beautiful Morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is not some back road, this is a US highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Who thought this would work ,Chip seal over concrete.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I found if I rode the tar strip it was smoother
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Joe BrownSorry, too hot this summer! 🥵
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 76 miles (122 km)
Total: 1,125 miles (1,811 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0