Day 57: Hythe - Valleyview - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2010

Day 57: Hythe - Valleyview

I started the day hoping to stay near Grand Prairie, about 58 km from my starting point. It's a long weekend and I figured that it might be problematic finding somewhere to stay. I pulled into the Grand Prairie visitor centre and there were three young ladies there looking after things. It turned out that all the campgrounds in the area were either full or did not accept tents. (Not accepting tents is due to behaviour problems from partying teens.) Finally, there were able to make a reservation for me at Valleyview - only 105 km away!

Before I left town, I figured it would be best if I fuelled up. So, I stopped in at a Subway sandwich for a meal. Thankfully, I had a tailwind that blew me there. I am now truly in the prairies. The roads are very flat. The only significant climb was the Smokey River Valley. There were long stretches on a divided highway, but there were 10 foot wide paved shoulders. So, it was never really a problem.

I arrived at the Sherk Campground ($15.74) in Valleyview just before 7:00 PM. The lady at reception was very friendly. Her son had bicycle toured and she said it was nice to see someone who was 'high on life'.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=55.05452,-117.2979&ll=55.05452,-117.2979&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

A railway car in the campground.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The town grain elevator.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The world's largest beaver.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 172 km (107 miles)
Total: 6,531 km (4,056 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0