Day 58: Valleyview - Fox Creek - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2010

Day 58: Valleyview - Fox Creek

Considering yesterday I was forced to put in a long day to find accommodation on a long weekend, I thought it best to make today a short day. It worked out well due to the steady headwind. I needed to do my laundry anyways.

It started out clear, but then clouded over as the day progressed. This has been the pattern recently. After I stopped for the day it rained and there were strong winds.

It seems everybody wants to talk to cyclists here. At a rest stop today, the following people spoke to me:

- a crazy guy in a pickup truck

- a lady collecting the recycling materials who prayed for me

- a motorcycle dude (with 'Rebel' on his belt buckle) who carefully explained to me about his $50 boots (regular $200)

- a lady with her family who stopped to use the facilities

I stayed at the Fox Creek RV Campground ($18). A nice place just beyond the tourist information centre and close to town.

Tomorrow, I am hoping to make it to a provincial campground (either Pembina or Wabamun).

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=54.39904,-116.81396&ll=54.39904,-116.81396&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 95 km (59 miles)
Total: 6,626 km (4,115 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0