Day 56: Taylor BC to Hythe Alberta - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 30, 2010

Day 56: Taylor BC to Hythe Alberta

The day started with a 6 km uphill grind out of the Peace River Valley. That was the only real climb of the day. The roads became rolling and then flatter as the day went along. There was a nice tailwind all day.

As I left Dawson Creek, there were some nasty looking clouds in the sky. There was a campground (Sudeten Provincial Park) on the BC side of the BC/Alberta border and I needed to make a decision whether to carry on or stop and camp for the night. I decided to continue on to Hythe Alberta. Fortunately, the skies cleared up. But there was lots of evidence that a heavy rain had just passed through Hythe.

So, after 8 weeks of cycling, I am now starting the second of ten provinces. I might have to pick up the pace a bit now that I am out of the mountains.

I stayed at municipal campground in Hythe ($10). It has a nice big field and hot showers and is a 5 minute walk from the grocery store. So, I'm happy.

The long weekend is coming up, so I am planning a short day for tomorrow. I will cycle 60 km and then check in to the Grand Prairie Visitor Centre and try to find a campground there.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=55.332454,-119.55798&ll=55.332454,-119.55798&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

My good morning wake up climb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Making progress!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back on the Peace River Valley. The climb out was foggy, but it cleared up when I emerged from the valley.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Out of the mountains after nearly two months of cycling.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mile 0 of the Alaska Highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another Mile 0 marker for the Alaska Highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yet another Mile 0 marker for the Alaska Highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
After two months of cycling, I am entering my second province (of ten).
Heart 0 Comment 0
Welcome to the prairies!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 130 km (81 miles)
Total: 6,359 km (3,949 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0