Day 54: Buckinghorse River to Wonowon - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 28, 2010

Day 54: Buckinghorse River to Wonowon

The day started nicely with a big breakfast across the street from the campground. I had the big breakfast which included bacon, eggs, ham, sausage, toast, pancakes and OJ. For once, I was satisfied.

As a side note, the Pink Mountain campground seems to be closed too, although the site still remains. It would still be possible to wild camp there.

When I arrived, the campground promised was not there. I went to the gas station in town and asked. The operator confirmed that there was no campground. :( He asked where I was headed and when I said south he said it was about 18 km to the next campground (Elgin Lake). It would have been possible, but I don't believe distances from anybody who drives a car.

I was mentally preparing myself for a long day, but I went back through town to look more carefully and even consider a hotel. There was one place that had a sign saying camping, but there were no signs of tents or anyone camping. It was possible that they might have a room. I went to knock on the door and someone came out and asked me if I was cycling. It turns out she was one of five teachers who were cycling to Alaska. They had phoned the number on a sign by the door and talked to the person running it. They were allowed to stay for $50 for the group. They set up tents outside, but they had access to the indoor facilities. This included hot showers, towels, washing machines, satellite TV and wireless access. They lent me their PC so that I could catch up on e-mail etc. It was a rather miraculous relief from what I had been expecting for the rest of the day.

It was great to have a bit of company. We were able to exchange information about what was coming up since we are headed in opposite directions. Their blog can be found at:

http://www.cycletoalaska.wordpress.com

I stayed at Nomadic Camp Services ($10).

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=56.73763,-121.82583&ll=56.73763,-121.82583&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

The view at the 6000 kilometre mark of the trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 123 km (76 miles)
Total: 6,108 km (3,793 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0