Day 55: Wonowon to Taylor BC - Four Corners of Canada - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2010

Day 55: Wonowon to Taylor BC

I said goodbye to the group in the morning and headed out at about 7:30 AM. It was a lonely feeling at first, but after a few miles on the road it passed.

On the way out, I noticed that the campground was pretty much where the gentleman at the gas station said it would be. I owe him an apology for not really believing him. However, I am happy that I ended up where I did last night.

Fort St. John was the first big town I have passed through in a long time. It was a bit of a culture shock being in a place that was so busy. It also felt very strange to cycle by a grocery store because I knew there would be another one soon anyways. This would not have happened on the Dempster.

It was my intention to continue through Taylor when I arrived. However, I stopped in at the visitor information centre and it seemed like a very good set up so I decided to stay. The lady who worked at the information centre was very helpful (and a bit of a salesman for the area too). As an added bonus, I was able to go to the library and catch up on e-mail.

I stayed at the Peace Island Campground ($15). The original plan was to place me on the nice forested island. However, it turned out that there had been a bear wandering through the park there. So, instead they put me in with the RVs.

I hope to make it to Hythe, Alberta tomorrow. There is a municipal campground. There are calls for thunderstorms tomorrow morning/afternoon. So, I could do a shorter day to Dawson Creek or Sudeten Provincial Park. After that a long weekend is coming up so it would be prudent to be taking some short days then.

End point:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=56.1313,-120.67501&ll=56.1313,-120.67501&ie=UTF8&z=12&om=1

The pool table.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The couches and satellite TV. They also had wireless. Not bad for $10.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The team on their way to Alaska.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Off they go!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bike by the camping area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An overturned truck. Not many pictures today. The scenery seems to be becoming less interesting.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 121 km (75 miles)
Total: 6,229 km (3,868 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0