Squishy wet socks - Following the Falls Line - CycleBlaze

April 21, 2024

Squishy wet socks

Oh how I hate them

"CAN I HELP YOU?" the man asked, emerging from the door of the B&B where I'm staying tonight.  It was a fair question: I was wet, bedraggled, cold, and undoubtedly lost-looking as I stood fiddling with my phone in his driveway, in a drizzling rain.

"Yes.  I'm two hours early for check-in but I'm hoping there's at least someplace inside where I can dry off and warm up."

There was, and also my room was nearly ready so I could get in early.

I was early because of two things, closely related.  The weather today has been depressingly exactly as forecast: a day-long slow drizzle, with temperatures starting at 59 and falling slowly and steadily to 45.  There were a few moments here and there where the drizzle paused but for the most part I was kept wet throughout the day.

In those conditions I was disinclined to stop for long anywhere outside, and opportunities for indoor stops were limited, so by default I kept moving all day.  I also made the choice to brave a long stretch of NC 49, rather than sticking with my original plan to route around it.  That decision reduced the day's ride from a planned 57 miles to just 45, saving me well over an hour of outdoor time.

I needed to keep riding, just to stave off getting cold.  On a better day I'd have really enjoyed the back roads I was on after departing from NC 49, but today was all about getting to my destination as quickly as possible.

Chilly wet weather. Too bad, because this could have been a really pleasant stretch of road under better conditions, as could much of the latter portion of the day's ride.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The weather wasn't conducive to photo stops so there are only a few to share.

Falling slowly to ruin.
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of a number of country churches I passed. It was tempting to go inside to get warmed up, but I chose to press on instead.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This church appealed to me, but there was no sign that anyone was around. Just keep riding, riding, just keep riding.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Oh, about those socks.  I hate the squishy, squelchy feel of wet socks, so when riding in the rain I don't wear them.  Now you know.

Heart 0 Comment 1
Noe Hernandez Floresgood one. here I kept thinking when are those socks going to show up, only not to be there at all. :)
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 118 miles (190 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kelly IniguezWas this the Rodriguez' first rainy ride? How was handling?
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly IniguezIt got wet for a few hours last September in Minnesota but this lasted longer. Handling was fine, though my ingrained caution insured I didn't push the limits.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago