Home again, home again, jiggity jog - Following the Falls Line - CycleBlaze

April 30, 2024

Home again, home again, jiggity jog

A nice easy finish

Home, home again
I like to be there when I can
When I come in cold and tired
It's good to warm my bones beside the fire
Far away across the field
The tolling of the iron bell
Calls the faithful to their knees
To hear the softly spoken magic spells.

Pink Floyd, Breathe (reprise) from Dark Side of the Moon

I'm home.  It's good to be here.  The lyrics above rattled around inside my head for much of the day.

It was a good day, starting with a wonderful breakfast at Art and Anh's place in Woodbridge (really, Lake Ridge) VA.  Thanks again you guys!

As expected, getting out of Prince William County involved riding on big roads with lots of fast-moving traffic.  Well okay, I was riding for a lot of the time on  sidewalks next to the big roads with lots of fast-moving traffic.  It helped to have that zone of separation, and that segment really only lasted a few miles before RWGPS routed me down a lovely narrow, winding, shaded lane.

Why I Hate Riding on Sidewalks, Reason No. 217. If the vertical joint parallel to the sidewalk doesn't make you crash, the two-inch step farther on might.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Designed for cars, not bikes.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Deathtrap: I need to cross three lanes of fast-moving traffic, approaching from a blind corner, with no signal or crosswalk.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Not long after, I crossed the mighty Occoquan and entered Fairfax County, the last of the Virginia counties I'd be in.  (Due to a quirk in the way Virginia organizes local governments, the City of Alexandria is an entirely separate  and independent administrative entity from Fairfax County despite being entirely surrounded by it so Fairfax was the last actual county.  It's a quibble, sue me.)

The Mighty Occoquan is the boundary between Prince William and Fairfax Counties in this area.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Fairfax, or maybe the Commonwealth of Virginia, have thoughtfully added a dedicated bike/pedestrian lane to the bridge, ensuring separation from traffic with a jersey barrier. Well done!
Heart 2 Comment 0

The difference was immediate, and enduring: throughout my traverse of Fairfax County there were either specifically-marked bike lanes, separated/isolated bicycle / pedestrian paths, or both.  Fairfax, for all its faults, has at least to be commended for attempting to atone for past sins by incorporating usable infrastructure specifically for bikes into their roadways and plans.

It took a while to get through, though.  For one thing I was riding fairly slowly, just taking it easy and not taxing myself.  For another, the bike paths parallel and cross roads every bit as big and busy as those in Prince William County and Fredericksburg.  There are cyclist-activatable signals at every intersection, but the sheer number of them means progress will be slow and incremental.  That was fine with me.

Be careful when pushing the button to activate the crossing signal.
Heart 1 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltJumping spiders are so cute!

I just had to look up this one.

https://spiderid.com/spider/salticidae/phidippus/audax/
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo Bill ShaneyfeltIt's a fuzzy little beastie isn't it?
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
For Winnie
Heart 1 Comment 0
Two options: a striped-off and marked bike lane, or a physically separate well-paved bike path.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Given the state of the Yield to Bikes sign, I opted to stay on the side path.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It has its hazards too, of course.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Approaching Lorton I found The Workouse, a public/private partnership in support of the arts.  It wasn't until I spotted what once were watchtowers that I realized I was on the site of what was once the primary jail for DC.  It closed not long after we moved to the region,  and until today I'd never been near the place.

It was this piece of art that caught my attention, else I might've passed the whole place by without really recognizing it for what it is.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A puzzlement. I don't quite get it but that's okay.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Disused guard tower, an enduring reminder of the history of the place.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltMany years ago (early 1980s), I attended an in-prison seminar when I worked for Prison Fellowship. I spent a few days at Lorton prison.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo Charmaine RuppoltNow that the fences and razor wire have gone, the outsides of the buildings don't look so bad. I didn't look inside, of course, but the historical photos make it clear that it wasn't all bon bons and champagne for the inmates.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Former inmate dormitories are now art spaces.
Heart 2 Comment 0
There's now an annual "Prison Break Fun Run" that starts and ends on the grounds. I've seen photos where runners dress in appropriate costumes: black and white striped jumpsuits, wearing papier-mache ball and chain.
Heart 1 Comment 0
"Are there no prisons? Are there no workhouses?" Yes, Ebenezer Scrooge, there certainly were.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Distracted as I'm leaving, I fail to notice that the route turns to the right at the exit of The Workhouse and continue north for a mile and a quarter before I realize my mistake.  Oops.  Oh well, what's a couple extra miles, at this point?

It's easy riding west to east in that area, since the land slopes gently toward the Potomac for many miles.  Several miles from Mount Vernon, I entered the vast network of multi-use recreational paths that are intertwined with the road network.  If so inclined, you could travel hundreds of miles on them, with hardly any time on the roads themselves.

The cool, shaded conditions on the path as it parallels the Potomac were delightful.  Being a Tuesday morning there weren't too many others using the trail, so it wasn't the exercise in crowd avoidance that it can be on nice weekend days.

Buses by the dozens bring visitors to Mount Vernon.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A human tide, headed back to their bus.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cool, shady, not terribly busy: the Mount Vernon Trail was a great segment of today's ride.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltYou were right nearby where John Pickett lives. :) I'm sure he would've gotten together to visit! :)
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago

Just at the south end of Alexandria, the trail crosses under the Woodrow Wilson Bridge.  It's quite a place.

Even Old Town Alexandria wasn't too crazy.  Sure there were lots of people out and about but nothing like the crowds typical of a sunny weekend day.  Stopping in at Big Wheel Bikes, I had them take care of what had been a nagging annoyance for most of the trip.  The right side (rear) brake lever was loose, and kept sliding down the handlebars as I rode.  I had tried, halfheartedly and without success, to fix it myself but couldn't get a wrench into the spot where the critical bolt is located.  They had me fixed up in a jiffy, requesting as payment only that I write a good review.  That I will do happily.

Along the Potomac, on the Mount Vernon Trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of the cruise / lunch / party / sightseeing boats that operate between Old Town Alexandria and Mount Vernon.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is Pickett Country: I've invaded John Pickett's home turf. I half-expected to meet him on the trail, returning from a day's ride. In the distance is part of the Wilson Bridge, which carries the Beltway across the Potomac at this point. The old, woefully inadequate and crumbling span was replaced a few years ago with this modern billion-dollar version.
Heart 2 Comment 6
John PickettThis is a bit north of Pickettville. Your ride along the MVT mostly duplicated my bike commute. Not half bad. (The trail is in infinitely better shape these days, no thanks to the no-account National Park Service. Virtually all the maintenance - including grinding down over 600 root heaves - is done by volunteers.)
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo John PickettYeah I know that shot is north of you by a few miles. Your area just doesn't photograph as well. :) And I figured I could stretch the definition a little, since you patrol this section routinely. :)

Good luck on your own upcoming adventure.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
John PickettTo John PickettAlso, the bridge in the picture above has a multi-use trail on the north facing side so you can ride over to Prince Georges County in Maryland.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo John PickettThat makes it either unique or nearly so, as an Interstate bridge with a bike lane.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
John PickettTo Keith AdamsI think the GW Bridge in NYC qualifies as does the Mario Cuomo (Tappan Zee) Bridge. And I-80 across the Delaware has a rather lame side path on it for the Appalachian Trail.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo John PickettI didn't realize those other bridges had provisions for non-motorized access. It's still a very small minority of interstate bridges, though.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
A novelty: alongside the bike lanes is a pedestrian-specific walking lane.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The other Old Town stop was in fulfilment of a promise I'd made myself earlier: a stop for ice cream.  There' s a shop right along the way, so it was an easy promise to keep.

Ahhhhhhhhh.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Torpedo Factory, at the foot of King Street in Old Town Alexandria, made torpedoes during WWII. Later, after it closed and languished for decades, it too was revitalized and repurposed as a place for artists to locate their studios. It's once again thriving, in that new role.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Being immediately next to the Potomac has its risks. Those water depth calibration marks aren't just for show, or whimsy.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Reaching Gravelly Point Park, just opposite the north end of the runways at National Airport, I paused long enough to watch a few planes land  and take off.  (When the wind is from the south the landing approach follows the river, and the planes come in very low and directly overhead.  It's fun to watch.)  There were four couples cavorting and trying to get fun pictures as the planes passed overhead; it was as entertaining to watch their antics as the planes themselves.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

There was another reason I wasn't in any particular hurry today.  Last night over dinner I confessed to Art that I had a Secret Plan.  It occurred to me many days ago that I didn't actually need to ride every mile home.  Once I reached the zone where it operates, I had my choice of several stations from which I might enter the Metro system, and enjoy a fast, easy, relaxing train ride back to Rockville; from the Rockville Metro station to home is less than two miles.  The more I rode the better this idea seemed.

I selected Union Station in DC as the point of entry; having started my journey south from that point 11 days earlier, it made agreeable symmetry to more-or-less end it back where it began.

Cormorants on driftwood in the Potomac.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Relatively new bike lanes skirt the Jefferson Memorial and Tidal Basin area, and are separated from traffic. Nice.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There's that building. It'd be nice if its occupants spent more time considering the impacts of their actions- or inaction- on hundreds of millions of people and less time posturing, posing, and petty political maneuvering.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Bored food delivery scooter drivers hang out at the top of the Metro escalators outside Union Station.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThere are LOTS of these food delivery scooter boys around town these days. They ride in the bike lane and pass VERY close to where you are riding without a thought. :/
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Reasons Why I Hate Riding on Sidewalks, # 79. Rockville, for all that has done and continues to do to improve pedestrian and cyclist safety, could still do better in places.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Arriving back at my driveway I shot the ceremonial end-of-tour photos, came inside, and was done.

Home again.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltWelcome back! Glad you had a nice trip! :)
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo Charmaine RuppoltThanks! I was thinking of you as well as of John as I rode up through Fort Hunt and Belle Haven.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Good way to finish a great trip.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 568 miles (914 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 19
Art NarroIt was great to have you drop by and reconnect!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo Art NarroThanks Art- now we need to work on STAYING better-connected.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Noe Hernandez FloresWell done Keith well done. Lets just say there is a certain someone who is not as physically ready as you are for the upcoming trip.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo Noe Hernandez FloresThanks Wil. I have no doubt you'll be ready when the time comes.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Adam ZamoraWhat a lovely little tour! It's been fun following you.
Have a great ride on the Katy!
-Adam
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Bill ShaneyfeltThanks for all the photo efforts! Looking forward to your next outing. Hopefully you will choose to avoid sugar and empty carbs between now and then so it will be easier! Yeah, I know
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo Adam ZamoraThanks Adam!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks Bill.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
John PescatoreGreat ride/writeups, Keith!

I think you proved one of your points: East Coast cities developed along the fall line! Years ago I did a 3 day ride from Columbia MD to a friend's family farm in Dinwiddie VA and stayed west of the fall line. Very pleasant biking, trading traffic for rolling hills.

On developments: our previous house that we lived in until 2003 was built in 1965 or so. One day, I was walking our dog to the outskirts of the neighborhood where an old guy was sitting on his porch. He yelled out "Cute dog, where do you live?" I told him and he said "I still remember my mom crying when they cut down the apple orchard to build those houses."

That made me realize my "neighborhood" was once a "development!"
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Keith AdamsTo John Pescatore"... my "neighborhood" was once a "development!" "

It's a matter of perspective, for sure. And of course there's the natural tendency of people everywhere to try to close the door behind them: once they're in, they don't want further encroachment. But THEY definitely want IN.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
John PescatoreTo Keith Adams That's an old line I attribute to George Carlin but not really sure:

"What's the difference between a preservationist and a developer?"

The preservationist already has his house in the woods...

But you see how well it can be done when biking in places like Seattle, Portland, etc, and not even bringing the Amsterdams of the world into the discussion, it is really sad how often it is done badly.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Kelly IniguezThat was fun! I'm ready for more.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly IniguezThanks!

I'm ready, too. My Katy Trail starts at the end of next week...
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
John PescatoreTo Keith AdamsKeith - you'll have to repeat your ride in 2026 if this trail really happens:

https://www.wtvr.com/news/local-news/fall-line-trail-update-april-23-2024
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Keith AdamsTo John PescatoreMy (AWESOME!) WarmShowers host in Richmond has a copy of the planning / vision document for that trail and left it for me to thumb through. I read quite a bit of it and it's very promising and encouraging.

Fredericksburg City, along with Spotsylvania, Stafford, and Prince William Counties could all learn a lot from Richmond City, Chesterfield, Henrico, and Hanover Counties.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Keith AdamsTo Adam ZamoraHi Adam-

I see from your profile that you've done the Katy. Anything in particular you think I should know, a week before I blast off?

My friend and I plan a five-day transit, camping most nights, but at least one night (Jefferson City) will be a hotel, B&B, or something similar.

Did you camp? if so what, if anything, can you tell me about general / overall access to electricity at camping sites? I'm a CPAP user so will be carrying two batteries for that, to forestall any possibility of being caught without access to electricity for my portable machine but the extension cord is lighter. I'd rather carry the cord only but if there's a chance of being caught in a situation where there's no outlet in handy proximity to my tent I'll need the batteries.

It's laid out as a five day (54, 64, 64, 68, and 48 miles respectively) and four night affair, taking the Rock Island Spur from KC MO (starting, I hope, from the trailhead in the vicinity of the Arrowhead Stadium / Kaufman Stadium complex).

My plan relies on timely access to convenience and grocery stores along / near the routes, and open cafes for lunches.

John Pickett advised me, based on his experience, that the stores and other resources may not always be where / as you want/need them.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Adam ZamoraTo Keith AdamsYou're taking me way back...

The short answer is that the group I was riding with was not really into camping, so we stayed at hotels for the entire trip. The lodging, besides the tornado in Columbia, was uneventful. Anyway, I'm not sure the condition of the campgrounds, and it was long enough ago that I don't really remember if there were charging opportunities at the various depots. I remember there being a lot of porta-potties and not real restrooms. So, I think opportunities were probably scant.

I can't speak to the Spur, but in general, we didn't have much trouble finding stores in the small towns but we did have trouble with restaurants. Many of them closed early and we were really taking our time. Sunday also had us finding fewer services open.

Hope this small bit of info helps...
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Keith AdamsTo Adam ZamoraIt does. I'm prepared to fix camp dinners and breakfasts (made an REI run today and got enough backpacker meals to cover all the dinners and breakfasts, plus a spare for lunch in a pinch.)

Since I can get a full night out of each of the two CPAP batteries I can get to our third night (Jefferson City) and recharge them there, without lugging the extension cord along.

Thanks for the info.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Adam ZamoraKeith,

There's a YouTuber that just made the trip on the Katy. She camped in the trailside campgrounds. You might take a look: https://www.youtube.com/@DeniseLookingOut

Adam
Reply to this comment
3 days ago