The Falls Line - Following the Falls Line - CycleBlaze

March 20, 2024

The Falls Line

A natural boundary along the Atlantic seaboard of the U.S.

THE "FALLS LINE" is an approximately 900-mile long boundary between physiographic provenances along the Atlantic Seaboard of the US, running north-northeast from Georgia to New Jersey.  It is expressed as a long series of waterfalls on the predominantly west-to-east flowing rivers that drain the Appalachian Mountains and piedmont into the Atlantic Ocean.

The Falls Line follows the heavy black boundary between the blue and taupe areas in the image above. Image source: http://virginiaplaces.org/regions/fallshape.html
Heart 1 Comment 0

It is the demarcation of the boundary between the Piedmont to the west and the Atlantic Coastal Plain to the east.  First documented in the early 1600s, the falls were created as rivers transition from flowing over the hard crystalline igneous and metamorphic rocks of the Piedmont, to the much softer and more easily eroded sedimentary deposits that lie between the falls and the Atlantic coast.

A couple hundred million years ago, the predecessors of the current Appalachian Mountains were created as the result of a titanic collision between Africa and North America.  They soared to heights estimated to be in excess of 20,000 feet.  Time and the elements, the great levelers, have since eroded and worn most of that enormous mass of material away.  Rivers have cut down through the lower areas, creating "gaps" in what remains and carrying vast amounts of sediment away, depositing it along the coastal plain to the east as well as the midcountry of Ohio, western Kentucky and Tennessee, etc. all the way to the Mississippi River.  

To give you a sense of how much sediment there is, consider the image below (swiped from the same source as that above):

The wedge of sediment shed from the mountains reaches as much as 6,000 feet of depth, and runs over 900 miles.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The falls line boundary has had tremendous impact on how people, particularly European settlers and their descendants, have interacted with the land.  Cities, towns, and villages tended to concentrate at the falls, which provided cheap power to operate mills.  

The falls are the natural "head of navigation" for the rivers; below them, sailing vessels and steamships could operate easily, but they could not pass beyond.  Towns along the fall line naturally tended to become inland ports, places where incoming trade goods could be delivered by vessel and outgoing materials such as crops, furs, timber, and other items could be picked up by the same vessels.

Fords across rivers above the falls tended to be located in places where the river bottoms expose and flow directly over the hard crystalline rock of the Piedmont; it's much easier for people, horses, and wagons to cross at such places than  where the river bottom is deep, slippery, clinging mud.  Several fords at or near the falls line played important roles in, among other things, key Civil War battles including Fredericksburg VA, Gettysburg, Antietam, as well as many other related operations.

On the coastal plain, rivers tend to be crossed by bridges and ferries rather than by fords.  Roads are built much more easily on the relatively flat, low-lying, unconsolidated alluvial soil of the coastal plain than in the tortuous, steep, winding hills of the Piedmont.  Naturally, that coincides with the establishment of many more settlements along and to the east of the falls line than to the west.  Wikipedia will happily tell you much more, should you care to learn.  

The short version is that the East Coast Greenway appears to follow the falls line for much of its (the ECG's) length as it traverses the mid-Atlantic region.

I happen to live within ten miles of the fall line where it crosses the Potomac River (at Great Falls, in Virginia and Maryland).  I have in-laws in Charlotte NC, and there's relatively inexpensive bicycle-capable Amtrak service between there and Washington DC.  My plan is to take the train down to Charlotte then set off riding back north until I get home.  I'll intersect the ECG somewhere east of Greensboro NC, then use that and U.S. Bike Route 1 to work my way home.  Starting somewhere well south of Richmond I expect to be on or near the falls line pretty much the rest of the way.

Heart 1 Comment 5
Susan CarpenterHi Keith - I note that your route misses the ECG as it goes thru Raleigh and Durham. I live just off the East Coast Greenway in Cary NC and have ridden the sections between Clayton and Durham many times. Most of the section is on dedicated bike ways and is marked, though not exceptionally well I’d be happy to provide info if your route changes to include that section. Also, I have friends in the area that could host you - I’d love to do so myself but am off in Europe for the next few months. Best wishes on the trip - it sounds quite interesting
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsTo Susan CarpenterHi Susan

I'm definitely open to suggestions to improve the route from Charlotte to Bahama. There's nothing like local knowledge in that regard! I'm still glad you pointed out the site of the Nez Perce massacre out west, a couple years ago, and would give great consideration to your home turf suggestions.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsTo Susan CarpenterI've changed my mind about the part of the route between Charlotte and Bahama, taking a somewhat more direct path and substituting commercial hotels for Warm Showers hosts since I've not received any replies to my hosting requests- not even acknowledgement that the requests have been received.

The route map has been updated accordingly.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Keith AdamsSorry I've been late replying to your earlier comment. I'm over in Europe touring at the moment and sometimes lose track of things. I noted your changed route, but I'm happy to continue our conversation my email. My gmail name is susanlongcarpenter. I did a WS host of a nice guy who was riding the ECG through some of NC- I might be able to put you in touch with him if think that would be helpful
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsTo Susan Carpenter"Sorry I've been late replying to your earlier comment. I'm over in Europe touring at the moment and sometimes lose track of things."

The nerve. How DARE you go off and do something you want to do, abandoning me and my desperate need for information without a care in the world. :)

Seriously, though: no worries, it's all good. I'll switch to the private channel.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

Rather than camp, my overnight accommodations will be a mix of Warm Showers hosts, an AirBnB, a couple commercial hotels, and (I hope) a friend's house.  That will lighten and shrink my load considerably, eliminating the need to carry my tent and all the related camping impedimentia.

It's just over a month before all of this is slated to happen, and thus far I've logged 25 miles of riding for the year.  Guess I'd best get started  changing that.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 18
Scott AndersonI found this to be a really interesting post, Keith. I’ve never heard of this before, although I’m familiar with a few spots along the line from where we crossed it on our few tours on the east coast.

Great concept for a tour. I’ll look forward to following along.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltInteresting area! Not far from the A/T. Back in the early 2000s I section backpacked from Erwin, TN to somewhere in the middle of PA. Then in 2008 rode my bike to Wake Forest, taking in a lot of mountain riding through KY, TN, NC, SC and then looping back up.

Looking forward to following along with you again!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bob DistelbergInteresting stuff. I've lived my whole life on the east coast, and have never heard of the 'Falls Line'. I'm looking forward to following along.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonThanks Scott.

I've known of it since college, when my roommate (a geography major) talked about it. It may be that it was also covered in my own major, geology, but it is my roomie's conversation that I recall more clearly.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsTo Bill ShaneyfeltYou may note some places you've seen before. Time will tell.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsTo Bob DistelbergIf you're from New England you'd be less likely to have heard of it, perhaps.

Hope you enjoy what's to follow.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Wayne EstesYou have come up with a great geographic theme! Feel free to re-use my stolen photo of the 6 major water divides in North America. On this page.
https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/mormontour/day-18-grace-to-lava-hot-springs/
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsTo Wayne EstesThanks Wayne.

Thanks for the offer to reuse your purloined graphic but I am not sut it's really relevant. The Eastern Continental Divide actually lies well to the west of the falls line, since it follows the ridges in the Blue Ridge physiographic province. The falls line, by contrast, marks the boundary between Piedmont and Atlantic Coastal Plain. The Piedmont is between the coastal plain and the Blue Ridge.

A map of I-95, on the other hand, would be a decent stand in for a falls line map since it runs quite close to it for much of the length of the falls line.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Keith AdamsYou said "You may note some places you've seen before."

I may not also... The old hard drive just doesn't seem to pull up images like it did back when I was a young 60 some year old. Back then I could recount almost any hike or bike ride I had taken anywhere anytime. Now, I seem unable to remember where I went yesterday, or sometimes this morning.

Gittin' ol iz no fun at this stage... But it beats the alternative!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Wayne EstesTo Keith AdamsKeith, thanks for clarifying that. I understand now.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsTo Bill Shaneyfelt"Gittin' ol iz no fun at this stage"

No it isn't, as I'm discovering to my dismay. I resented turning 40, really disliked having to face the fact I was 50, and haven't got words for being over 60. I will NOT go quietly into the good night. I will rage and kick and fight every inch of the way.

Now... HEY YOU KIDS! GIT OFF MY LAWN!!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Janice BranhamThis looks like a fascinating tour Keith. I look forward to following it. We'll be downstream of you on all those rivers as they flow east to the coast, riding a rather flatter course I expect, but potentially windier.
There's a good chance we'll have time on the way home from New York for a stop in Rockville, if your offer is still open and you're around in late May.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsTo Janice BranhamHi Janice

I'll be in Missouri riding the Katy Trail (https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/katytrail2024/), from May 17 through the 26th (Sunday of Memorial Day weekend) but I'm home and available in very latest May. Hope we can link up for another exciting CycleBlaze meetup!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Janice BranhamTo Keith AdamsExcellent route choice Keith. So funny that you'll be riding our "home trail" while we're not far from your territory. Between the Katy and the Falls Line adventure you have a stellar start on ride season. I'll be following along; hopefully we'll get lucky on the timing.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsTo Janice BranhamTruth be told, the Falls Line trip got put on the calendar as training for the Katy. Why not ride 600 miles in 12 days to train for a ride of about half that distance in about half the time? :)

As the time of our possible connection draws nearer, feel free to switch channels to email. My address is in my CB profile.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Janice BranhamTo Keith AdamsWill do Keith. I've been hearing about people abandoning email which I don't get. It's my favorite way to stay in touch. Mine is jbranham at gmail.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Art NarroKeith, glad to hear from your following two posts that you are now preparing your fitness for this ride. See you soon.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsTo Art NarroI was thinking of your brother's preparation for the Chicago marathon, years ago... perhaps using that as a model wasn't the smartest idea but it is what it is. See you in a couple weeks.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago