Are the bikes ready ? - High Maintenance - 6 Week Carretera Austral - 2024 - CycleBlaze

January 10, 2024

Are the bikes ready ?

bikes before we have to strip them down and put in boxes
Heart 1 Comment 0

Still in Peterborough getting packing underway. Had to take my bike in and swap tires. After David saw them and said ... really ,,, gravel roads and those,,, nope you will be in the ditch before you round the first corner. 

Since camping which means tents and sleeping bags,  David said be prepared, whatever you pack half of it you won't be taking. Probably a week of real pillows and a bed before I get to experience the the ground with rocks driving into my back. Oh,,,, and  I'm the one that suggested this trip. What can I say,,, cheap drugs. 

Oh,,, those reading.. why high maintenance ,, since one of us  - yep me - Peter has not slept in a tent or sleeping bag for over 55 years. David keeps shaking his head and asking why, why , why.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithMy nephew is planning to do a similar tour in couple of months so I’ll follow your journey with interest.

I’ll be able to sound knowledgeable and give him lots of helpful tips.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rachael AndersonI hope it goes well! A long time ago we took a tent and sleeping bag on a tour it quickly decided to go for cheap lodging!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago