Summary and thanks - High Maintenance - 6 Week Carretera Austral - 2024 - CycleBlaze

Summary and thanks

I would like to dedicate this trip and experience to my good good friend, David Cain. In spite of my lack of experience cycle touring, sleeping in a tent, and dealing with adversities of such a ride he believed in me. What more could you ask a friend to do?

I would also like to dedicate this trip to his late wife Janis. I truly believe she was looking out after us, the weather was so good, no rain. I’m sure she was smiling down at both of us as we cycled. She was saying I can’t let those poor old suckers get stuck in the rain! Janis I thank you so much for that ! 

The odd time when I thought this was tough and wondered why I was doing this I thought of her immortal words WHY NOT. I always wanted to do a ride like this with David and Janis and never got the chance. Deep down, I know she was riding with us in spirit.

So again, thanks to the both for an experience of a lifetime. I will always look back at this trip with fond memories. Rule number three will stick with me for the rest of my life. Don‘t complain ! Also remember rule 4 if you do complain refer to rule 3. 

The trip has taught me to deal with adversities in a completely different way. The past is the past you cannot change it, so just deal with what has happened and move forward. Learn to live in the present moment! 

David put together an awesome video to a song that depicted our trip. I had no idea he did the intro when he asked me at the end to say what I learned after our trip 

We both had lumps in our throats when we finished the video. 

You can click on the link it will play in YouTube. 

Our traditional when we could find it, Cappachino
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI really enjoyed following along. Your ability to portray in words is both entertaining and informative. Your photos were very nice! Thanks for all the efforts. At age 78 with failing joints, I will never get to actually do it myself, so this helps scratch my itch.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonWell, congratulations! Hell of a ride, thanks for taking us along.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago