Beach Day in Nerja - Escaping the Rain--In Spain - CycleBlaze

November 5, 2021

Beach Day in Nerja

Already?

One day ride and one touring day and we’re already taking a day off?  Actually, we are. Nerja is the nicest resort so far and Al’s craving an ocean swim. It also gives me a chance to fix a couple of things. The nose pad on my sunglasses had rotted (I didn’t notice until Malaga) and, when they’d replaced my derailleur wire, my fender strut had been broken (by the shop; it was intact when I put the bike together).  When I pointed it out, he taped it together but the tape hadn’t held. This morning I bought some superglue to fix my glasses and some duct tape and metal bits to fix my bike. 

Then we went to the beach. The sun was comfortably warm without being burning, the sand was cool, and the water was cold. Al went for a swim but I only waded to my knees.

Some of the pedestrian streets in Nerja have beautiful stone paving.
Heart 4 Comment 0
We went to this beach, just east of the Balcon de Europa.
Heart 5 Comment 0
In he goes!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Walking the streets in search of lunch.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Every so often there's a place you can see the shore.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The best part about lunch today was the view. It was an inexpensive menu del dia and the food was okay but not great. We were still surprised when our dessert choices (Al's chocolate mousse and my flan) were brought as unopened prepackaged things on plates.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Image not found :(
And this surprise. I ordered Vino de Malaga thinking I'd be getting a light-bodied white wine like the one we had one night in Malaga. Then I thought it was my pronunciation and the server had misunderstood. But no, Vino de Malaga was what was on the bill and when I looked it up on my phone, this was it. We must have remembered wrong. I enjoyed this, but it was neither white nor light.
Heart 2 Comment 0

After lunch, we went elsewhere for coffee because by that time, our table was in full shade and we were chilled. Then it was time to do a bit of bike maintenance. 

Al cleaned and lubed the chains of both bikes while I rigged up a fix for my broken fender stay.
Heart 2 Comment 0

By this time, the sun was getting low but we thought we might get a bit more on the roof deck. 

The pool would be lovely if it were warmer!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesThe shot is beautiful!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThanks!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Image not found :(
Looking over the Plaza de España from the roof of our hotel.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Image not found :(
And looking towards the sea.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Nerja doorway
Heart 3 Comment 0

The budget restaurants in Nerja seem to mostly offer pizza, pasta, and burgers. It seemed to us that almost all were Italian. However, there were a few Indian places so we chose one of those and had a very good meal at Mum. 

Early to bed to be ready to ride tomorrow. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Scott FenwickAl looks like you had the ocean to yourself! I am sure you did. Warmer water than most summer days on the west coast I bet and refreshing for sure. Good work for pushing the seasons and getting that swim in.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesThe news is filled with skyrocketing Covid in Germany, but Spain seems stable and low. Since you are not mentioning Covid precautions or restrictions, is it so that it has become a bit of a non-issue where you are?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Scott FenwickHe wasn't in very long! But he did get all the way into the water, which I certainly didn't!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Steve Miller/GrampiesIt's rather like BC before the BC Vaccine Card. Masks are required indoors and hand sanitizer is everywhere. We haven't been asked to provide proof of vaccination anywhere.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago