First Rides After Back Surgery - Title TBD - CycleBlaze

First Rides After Back Surgery

In January, at the second meeting with my surgeon after the operation, I (along with Joy) convinced him to allow me to start doing some very short rides. He told me to be careful, and to limit the rides to ten miles or less. He was very, very clear, though, that I should not lift anything more than a few pounds, and definitely should NOT run the vacuum cleaner at home. This probably sounds funny, but I had actually missed vacuuming, which I normally do semi-obsessively. Apparently, though, it's a very big no-no after a discectomy.

On the afternoon of January 11th, I got on my Salsa Fargo and rode to the Zion country store and back - a whopping seven miles. It was great to be back on the bike.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Back home after my journey of seven miles.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Over the next month, I did increasingly long rides, although I didn't try anything too ambitious. For a while I rode the heavy Fargo exclusively, because of its more comfortable upright position, but once I was three months past surgery, I switched to my road bike.

I like taking photos while on bike rides, although I only use my "real" camera on bike tours. I took all of the following pictures with my Google Pixel smartphone. It's alright, although I prefer my Canon DSLR. But it's hard to justify lugging it along on day rides.

Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Karen PoretToo far, not “to” far.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff LeeYes, misspellings and grammatical mistakes are not uncommon on the signs outside rural churches here :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretToo young to die..very sad.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Karen PoretVery clever! Just like a real watermelon, with the best fruit “inside”..
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Annette SchneiderDutchman's Puzzle quilt block
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 4
Karen PoretWhat year were these prices posted? Very inexpensive…
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Mark BinghamAll kinds of choices... but only if you like cow, chicken, or pig. Welcome to Small Town, America!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff LeeTo Karen PoretThis was last month (February 2024.)

Those prices are typical for country cafes here in rural Kentucky.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff LeeTo Mark BinghamYep. As is usually the case in places like this, the only vegetarian option is the grilled cheese sandwich.

I'm very accustomed to eating grilled cheese sandwiches, both here, and on bike tours 😄
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltThat ol' folder looks shot.
:-)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0