Day 4: Harpers Ferry, WV to Hancock, MD - Younger on Two Wheels 2023: Chesapeake Bay to Chicago - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2023

Day 4: Harpers Ferry, WV to Hancock, MD

In which the rain forecast does not disappoint!

I wanted to get out a bit earlier, but my B&B served breakfast at 8:30, so 9:30 was about as early as I could manage. As it turned out I wish I had left earlier.

Harpers Ferry is a historic town. Look up the raid by John Brown on the town's armory in 1859 as a key civil-war moment. It sits at what was a strategic spot where the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers meet. West Virginia, Virginia, and Maryland all converge there.

Now it's a touristy town with little art and candy shops lining a steep High Street. I stayed in a B&B along the right side of this picture - a house made of stone dating to the 1860s.

Heart 2 Comment 0

This is where the Potomac (left) and Shenandoah converge, looking downstream.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After muscling my bike and bags down the metal stairs to the trail, I set off. It was pretty pleasant riding at this time of day. Occasionally the trees on the left would open up and I could see the peaceful river below.This dam dates to 1856. The sign says a brick and mortar dam was built after several rock and debris dams were swept away. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

At a couple of points during the day, the trail was paved at the bottom of a cliff. There wasn't anywhere to put a normal trail, so they just built one. I was on the verge of pulling out the drone and getting some footage of me riding along this, but it started to sprinkle, so I held off.

Heart 0 Comment 0

McMahons Mill was used to generate electricity until 1922 when a flood shut it down. The National Park Service restored it later.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Shortly after I passed the mill, it began to rain. The front of the storm came with wind that was whipping the trees around and I began to worry about falling limbs. No lightning, though. When it became apparent that the rain was going to stay for a while, I broke out the rain jacket, which I haven't needed for my last two trips.

This slowed things down somewhat. The trail became muddy and more slippery. I eventually reached Williamsport and stopped for a sandwich. While eating, the rain stopped and the sun came back out.

On returning to the trail, I think it had rained harder ahead of me because there was a lot of standing water. I don't know if you can see the water/mud combination in the photo below, but that was pretty typical for many more miles.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Another dam. I took a breather here and ate a snack. 15 or so miles to go...

Heart 0 Comment 0

Thanks to a tip from a reader, I was able to cut over to the Western Maryland Rail-Trail, which parallels the C&O for a bit. This was paved and made the last 10 miles way more pleasant!

Heart 0 Comment 0

I got to Hancock about 5:00 - later than I wanted to. There is a B&B here called the 1828 Trail Inn. Joe, the owner caters almost completely to cyclists. He had a spray hose in back to wash off the (very muddy) bike, laundry facilities to use, free gatorade and water, and he even gave me a ride to a nearby restaurant as he was heading that way. He's a wonderful human being, and I'm very grateful for the warm welcome I got! If you're stopping here on the trail, this is the place to stay!

Tomorrow's ride will be a long one - 77 miles to Frostburg, MD. I hear the Paw Paw tunnel is still closed, so there is a hiking trail detour. Then some climbing to finish the day. I'll need to get an early start!

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 157 miles (253 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0