Training Failures! - Younger on Two Wheels 2022: Lake Michigan - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2022

Training Failures!

My plans for April, May, and the first half of June included lots of 50-70 mile rides, some loaded. I was able to do this last year, and it certainly helped prepare me for my tour.

This spring, too many things have gotten in the way:

  • Preparing to sell our house
  • Moving to a new apartment
  • Weather (we had snow in late May!)
  • Bike repairs – I took it in for a pre-tour tuneup, and had to get a new rear wheel – this took almost 2 weeks where I didn’t have the bike while parts were shipped.
  • Helping my son look for a new apartment, and (tomorrow) helping him move.
  • Work (Even though the school year is over, I have been tapped to work this coming weekend for a non-school event at the school).

Is it possible I still could have squeezed a few more rides in here and there? Probably, but I’m just going to have to do some of my training on the first few days of the tour and see how my body adjusts. The Great Lakes aren’t an extremely hilly area, so I may be ok – it’s just stressing me out wondering if I’m really ready.

CHANGES FROM LAST YEAR

If you followed me last year you may remember I set off with four packed panniers, plus a large dry-bag. A few days in, I abandoned the idea of tent-camping and decided to stay in hotels/motels going forward. I was able to send home the two front bags, along with tent, sleeping bag, and other camping gear. My ride was much more pleasant after that.

This year, I am mostly sticking with that. I have the same two large panniers on the back, but instead of the handlebar bag in front, I’ve switched to a “porteur rack” with a fairly large bag on it. This is so I can carry a larger camera, and thus take better pictures.

Porteur racks are named after French Porteurs of the 1940s & 1950s, who carried newspaper loads on flat racks over their front tires. Many were also part-time bicycle racers. Here’s a picture of my rack, with the new large bag:

The Teal Tank
Heart 0 Comment 0

I did add an additional water-bottle cage in front – 3 bottles was ok last year, but I came close to running out a few times and didn’t like worrying about it. So I’ll have four. The rear rack is also different, and will hang the bags lower. The back wheel and saddle are also new. Everything else remains.

I’m hoping the first four days of next week will allow me to do some longer loaded training rides – stay tuned!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0