Light Riding this Weekend - Younger on Two Wheels 2022: Lake Michigan - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2022

Light Riding this Weekend

Not much real riding this weekend. We had snow (!) yesterday (Saturday). It wasn’t a lot, but enough heavy wet stuff to break a fair number of tree branches. There were thousands left without power on the west side of Denver and in the foothills where more snow fell. We had temps of almost 90 the previous day, so the ground was warm and thankfully nothing accumulated on the roads.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today, I did ride, but it was just a 12-mile ride with five kids from my school – their parents paid for the experience in the school’s PTA auction last fall. So it was just 12 miles with several stops – one for ice-cream!

I will be back out for more serious mileage next weekend. There are only two weeks of school left, so that will let me get some more quality miles the first half of June.

Here’s my itinerary for the Lake Michigan tour:

Lake Michigan Itinerary
Heart 0 Comment 0

The first Saturday, I’m doing the Fat-Tire Tour of Milwaukee. This is basically a pub-crawl on bikes. Not a ton of miles, but a fun, wacky crowd. Picture 500 bicycles piled up outside a neighborhood bar, and it’s like that at almost every stop. There’s always a theme, and this one is Little Shop of Horrors. It’ll be interesting to see all the costumes and decorated bikes.

Heart 0 Comment 0

This was my bike in a past FTTM – the theme was Animal House, so I made my bike the death-mobile, and blasted tunes on the speakers all the way on the boom-bike. I won’t be doing that on this trip, but that might help you get the vibe of this ride. It’s a ton of fun!

Next day, the real riding begins as I head north to Sheboygan.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0