Lake Michigan Tour Day 1: Milwaukee to Sheboygan - Younger on Two Wheels 2022: Lake Michigan - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2022

Lake Michigan Tour Day 1: Milwaukee to Sheboygan

Another day with cool temperatures and light winds made for an easy ride up the lakeshore. Almost all this day was on trails – the Oak Leaf Trail starts in Milwaukee, and goes north to Port Washington.

Milwaukee Art Museum
Heart 2 Comment 0

The Oak Leaf trail starts next to Milwaukee’s Art Museum – it’s designed to look like a sailboat, and the louvers on the left part raise up into the air, depending on weather conditions.

The trail wound up through suburbs north of Milwaukee, and was really easy to follow.

Heart 1 Comment 0

This old water-mill in Mequon, Cedarburg or Thiensville (don’t know which) is typical of the scenery along this trail.

Port Washington
Heart 0 Comment 0

Eventually, I reached my lunch stop in Port Washington. This town has a touristy area down on the lakefront with shops and a large marina.

Teal Tank at rest
Heart 1 Comment 0

Lunch was at a submarine-shop that is a chain in this part of Wisconsin – Cousin’s Subs. I’ve missed them since moving away, so this was a good reunion. I think it’s the bread, but they taste way better than what you get in your typical Subway.

Heart 0 Comment 0

About 3:45pm I rolled into my stop for this segment – Sheboygan, Wisconsin. Called the freshwater surfing capital of the world, and also known for bratwurst, it’s the first medium-sized city going north from Milwaukee on Lake Michigan.

Sheboygan Beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kite Surfer
Heart 0 Comment 0

It has a nice downtown area – not as decimated as some I saw in Nebraska last summer. I found my hotel, took a shower, and headed out to find some dinner. Not many places were open on a Sunday night, but I did end up at a local pub that had decent burgers.

Today’s stats: 63.4 miles, 1498 climbing feet, average speed 13mph

Special shout-out to my youngest (I think) reader: Daisy F. a 5th grader who’s mom says she loves reading my blog. Thanks for following along, Daisy!

Tomorrow is a slightly longer trip to Algoma, WI – 72 miles. Gotta get some rest!

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 87 miles (140 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0