Bikes & Beer: The Fat-Tire Tour of Milwaukee - Younger on Two Wheels 2022: Lake Michigan - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2022

Bikes & Beer: The Fat-Tire Tour of Milwaukee

Ottumwa, IA - home of Radar O'Reilly (if you're a M.A.S.H. fan)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Amtrak didn’t help me get to Milwaukee on time at all – in the end my train was 4.5 hours late – just the same as we left Denver. I missed my original connection, but there were 2 more that evening.

Ceiling of the Great Hall - Chicago Union Station
Heart 0 Comment 0

Despite being a beautiful building, Chicago’s Union Station is possibly the worst run place I’ve ever traveled through. Nobody helps or gives answers, and it’s extremely hard to figure out where and when to be in the right line.

Heart 0 Comment 0

If you’ve ever seen the movie “The Untouchables” with Kevin Costner and Sean Connery, this staircase might look familiar. It’s the site of a pivotal scene involving a shootout and a baby carriage.

I finally ended up in the right line, but that train was late too, so I didn’t get to my AirBnB until about 11pm, which just about makes it 24 hours of riding trains. Too long!

Allen Bradley clock tower
Heart 0 Comment 0

I said good night to the Polish Moon (Allen Bradley Clock Tower) and slept like a log.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Saturday was the 38th running of the Fat Tire Tour of Milwaukee (FTTM). It’s basically a pub-crawl on bicycles, and attracts somewhere between 300-500 riders each year. l first started doing it in the early 90s with a coworker, and have done about 7 over the years. It got a lot harder after we moved away from Milwaukee. Each year has a theme – this one was Little Shop of Horrors. Bike touring didn’t really allow me to bring any costumes or blast music as I usually do, but there were some really good setups.

Seymour & The Dentist (Seymour was making the plant move with his hand)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yours truly being attacked by another "Dentist". This will make no sense if you haven't seen the movie.
Heart 0 Comment 0

My friend Tom, who lives here was going to ride with me but had to go to a wedding instead, so I made some new friends.

Washington Park Beer Stop
Heart 0 Comment 0

The tube-exploding contest! Can you blow out your innertube faster than your neighbor?

Little Shop of Horrors Costume Contest
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sprecher Brewery
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sprecher also makes excellent root beer, available nationwide - if you see it, try it!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Beer Barrel Bump - push your keg down the course using your front wheel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Overall, it was a great day! Beautiful weather, tasty beer, fun people and BIKES!

Sunday I will actually start my trip around Lake Michigan, and head to Sheboygan.

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 25 miles (40 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0