Another Beautiful Riding Day - Younger on Two Wheels 2022: Lake Michigan - CycleBlaze

May 16, 2022

Another Beautiful Riding Day

I was able to get another 50 miles in yesterday, and rode down the Cherry Creek Trail to Parker and back. Not nearly as many birds to take pictures of. I did see another Great Blue Heron, but it was in flight and dipped down behind plant cover before I could react.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The view to the west was very clear, and I could see quite a bit of the Continental Divide. This view will deteriorate as soon as fires spring up further west.

Heart 0 Comment 0

To the south it was pretty hazy – usually Pikes Peak is clear from here, but today I could barely see it.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The only bird I could shoot was this Red-Tailed Hawk, although he was pretty high and I didn’t have a tripod to steady the camera, so the shots are a bit blurry.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

He was probably after this guy, but wasn’t going to try with me standing there.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I almost ran over this Rat Snake (I think). He seemed annoyed that I stopped and started to slither into the grass, so I only had time for a quick phone-pic. Curiously, the end of his tail was vibrating (although no rattle). Do other snakes (besides rattlers) do that when startled?

Heart 0 Comment 0

I spent some time this weekend fine-tuning my route for Lake Michigan, which starts in just a month. The route starts/ends in Milwaukee and comprises 1123 miles over 19 days of riding. I’m getting to/from Milwaukee via Amtrak, which is slow, but offers an easy way to bring a bicycle along. You can add a bicycle to most routes for $20. It goes into another car and you don’t have to think about it until changing trains or ending your journey.

Cheers! More in a few days…

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0