Day 9: Watching the rain in Prince Rupert - Western Canada 2007 - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2007

Day 9: Watching the rain in Prince Rupert

It rained almost continuously overnight. I got up at 8:30 and noticed a bald eagle in a tree in the wetland next to the campsite. I made breakfast and packed up in the covered picnic pavilion. Finally got on the road at 11, in light rain. The forecast called for rain all day, so I just loafed around in Prince Rupert. I rode all the downtown streets and bought a jade Inukshuk that I need to mail home tomorrow.

Downtown Prince Rupert.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A few blocks from downtown is Cow Bay, a former wharf that is redeveloped as a visitor center, cruise ship dock, and shopping mall. They get two cruise ships a week now and hope that more ships will dock in the future. Prince Rupert is also where the Alaska Ferry connects to B.C. Ferries. Most visitors arrive via ship.

Cow Bay, Prince Rupert.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cow Bay, Prince Rupert.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got a $21 bunk at the Pioneer Hostel in a historic building between downtown and Cow Bay. The hostel wasn't much more than half full but it was still crowded. I took advantage of their oven and baked a (frozen) BBQ chicken pizza. Something different from the usual camp stove food.

Pioneer Hostel, Prince Rupert.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The rain finally stopped for a while at 8 PM so I took a walk down to the waterfront. The waterfront is 50 feet below downtown.

Railway museum, Prince Rupert.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Prince Rupert waterfront.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Prince Rupert harbour.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today it rained most of the time until about 8PM, so I just stayed in Prince Rupert. I hope I will have better weather tomorrow because the scenery is supposed to be spectacular. I just had two consecutive rest days, so I need to hit the road.

The only road out of Prince Rupert is the Yellowhead Highway. I plan to ride 1100 km on this highway to the Canadian Rocky Mountains in Jasper, Alberta.

Distance: 12.6 km / 7.9 mi

Climbing: 149 m / 492 ft

Average speed: 10.9 km/h / 6.8 mph

Today's ride: 13 km (8 miles)
Total: 598 km (371 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0