Interactive Map - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Interactive Map

Illinois, Wisconsin & Minnesota

As a "simple man," my goals for the Viking Quest Solo Tour are also simple:  

(1) SEE a lot of interesting places, and
(2) Meet a lot of interesting people; hopefully making many new friendships, and
(3) Return home safe to my wife and family

*  Special thank you to my family and friends for their understanding, encouragement and support of my two-wheeled travels and crazy adventures; you've endured a lot.   I'll see you soon I promise!   

Let's Ride ~ Viking Quest 2023

*. Note:  The interactive map below displays the tour in five different routes  Viking 1 - 5.  You can isolate each route by using the menu below the map.  

Heart 2 Comment 4
Lyle McLeodHi Keith, good to see you'll be touring again this summer. This is a very cool map presentation and I'm interested in how you did this within RWGPS? Is it a RWGPS Collection?
I would like to do something similar for a trip that we're starting in just a few weeks. Any tips or tricks you can share would be greatly appreciated.
Rgds,
Lyle
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerLyle, hi. I created the routes separately in Ride With GPS then made an "Event". From the event page you'll see "show all" click on that. It will combine all of the routes into one map. From there, at the top right of that page, click on "share" and Embed Map. Copy that link and go back to CycleBlaze. Create Item and in the Entry Content box click on the Icon of the Globe "Embed Code". It is crazy simple after you find all of the "click on"s. hehehehehehe
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lyle McLeodTo Keith A. SpanglerThanks Keith, I managed to follow this and create one of these interactive maps for our upcoming France / Spain trip. Our blog for this will be going public on Sunday and we fly to Paris on Monday (17th April). Thanks again for your help with the map!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith A. SpanglerLyle, so happy it worked; I'm not normally good at giving (or following) directions. Hey, I will follow your trip buddy sounds like so much fun. Congrats for taking the plunge to follow those dreams.

Hey, I might be touring in 2024, it is a plan I had back when Covid came along. Did Atlantic Canada in stead. My route comes right through your town. It would be so fun to sit and chat. Happy Trails
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Gregory GarceauI see you'll be riding through the town where I live--Hastings, MN. Don't be surprised if I figure out when you'll be arriving and welcome you to our fine city.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Gregory GarceauGregory, how nice of you for the invite, I'll certainly try to make it work. I've never ridden this region so I'm excited to make the trip. Are you part of:
warmshowers.org

Chat soon!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith A. SpanglerNo, I'm not on Warm Showers. I'm aware of the organization, but have never used it because I feel uncomfortable about asking a stranger to take me into their home.

Anyway, I apologize if my message sounded like an invite. As much as I'd like to, we can't really accommodate any guests this summer because we might be moving my 87-year-old dad into our house. What I meant was that I'd enjoy meeting you and guiding you through my area--as I've done for other riders on the Northern Tier and Mississippi River routes. Sorry for the confusion.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Gregory GarceauGreg, you didn’t lead me to think anything sir! It will be nice to have your knowledge about the route, if fact how’s my route look through your area? I appreciate you writing me, I normally don’t have many followers so…. Respectively, Keith
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith A. SpanglerI think your route looks great. I've actually ridden most of it on various tours, except for the Chicago to Milwaukee section. As far as I'm concerned, you'll be seeing the best of Minnesota--especially the sections along Lake Superior and the Mississippi River (between La Crosse & Lake City.)
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerThat’s good news Greg, stay in touch!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago