Day 8 - Trempealeau, WI - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Day 8 - Trempealeau, WI

Day 8 - Trempealeau, WI and Perrot State Park

Route started from the Leon Valley Campground 3.5 miles from trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Even found cloths pins from my mom
Heart 3 Comment 0

So the day was really calm; was glad I got the tunnels done yesterday.  That wasn't all flat either, the poor train must have had fun back in the day because the trail rolled along - 3 percent grades at times.

Great River Trail runs along the Mississippi River
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today started out with a 3-mile trek thru farmland back to the trail and on to La Crosse, a town in western WI.  That was about 20-plus miles.  There I visited a bike shop for local info and to check tire pressure.   Then refueled the machine with this:

Look at this ... Good food! I borrowed some electric too.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Some trail shots:

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I met a couple interesting people today, one was Randy.

We road together for a short time talking about touring and riding locally. Thanks Randy
Heart 3 Comment 0

Another couple I met was Victor and his wife and friend.  They are Ride Across Iowa (a six-day ride across Iowa that I've done in the past).  So cool to meet another fan of that ride here in WI.   We exchanged memories of Iowa and biking in general.  It was special to meet you all!!!

Heart 4 Comment 0
Trail Magic @ the State Park. I'm grateful too!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Finally, I met two ladies in a SUV

by the camp water fountain / restrooms.   Monica and Rebecca offered to bring me food.  Ladies that was so nice of you.  Thank you for asking about my travels.  I want you to know this is why I bicycle tour - kind people like you all!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 369 miles (594 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Tamora StumGreat day hubby!!! Watch out for this hot days coming..... oxoxoxoxo
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Tamora StumYou hot dogs look yummy!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerI ate three….dark, hot and GOOD
Reply to this comment
8 months ago