Day 36 - Grand Rapids - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Day 36 - Grand Rapids

Heart 0 Comment 0

Day 36 - Virginia to Grand Rapids - hack yes!

Coffee and goodbyes this morning at Rob's place....great hosting - conversation, cheese and crackers, salad and pasta.  Oh coffee and honey!

Travis left before me; he was heading in the same direction.   We met up along the trail and shared some thoughts before he turned off to explore a town.

I rolled along not stopping much, not sure why just eager I guess.  The trail is pretty well taken care and signed nicely.  It travels past  iron mining sites and lakes made from mining.  I forget what they call it, but there are mountains made from the mining all along the route.  Rob told me there is controversy over mining, but it has been going on for hundreds of years so ....

 Anyway, the trail - which is paved - ducks in, out, across and along 169 - a busy road.   Some of the trail is on closed roads too.  There is a lot of pretty scenery throughout.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Small mining towns have character
Heart 2 Comment 0
I tried not to keep stopping, but this caught my eye
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Trail GEM sections
Heart 2 Comment 0
Fall colors fill the scenic views along the trail
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I saw this when I ducked into a town, made me laugh.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Whoops - had one detour in Kelly Lake that took me on an unsigned (google a car route) adventure through gravel roads in the woods.   The detour was caused by a bridge that was out.  The workers refused my plea to let me pass the 15-foot deep hole in the road.  I could see the trail, but couldn't get there - sucked.

In addition to the detour, I always make navigational errors and today was no exception.   Well, I actual was just following my route, which I plotted - so I'll blame myself.   Regardless,  I got to Grand Rapids and the Gilbert Mansion B&B.  

Gilbert Mansion
Heart 2 Comment 1
Tamora StumYou are supposed to be camping.... not staying in mansions.....LOL
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0

I am treating myself to a beer and salad at Unwinded Up North  so all is good. 

Kristy - Gilbert Mansion - thank you for everything!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 968 miles (1,558 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0