Day 12 - Minneopolis / St. Paul - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Day 12 - Minneopolis / St. Paul

Day 12 - The final destination for the Viking 2 leg of the solo bicycle tour Viking Quest 2023

Heart 1 Comment 0
St. Paul
Heart 3 Comment 0

The route from Hastings was completed on 95-percent trails again.   The views were rural to urban, all under a bright sky with mild temperatures.

Met Fred, a previously famed cross country cyclist, who Shepard me for several miles today.  We even had coffee along the last 10 miles to St. Paul.   Thank you for sharing time with me, I appreciate it so much.

Fred....appreciated your company
Heart 4 Comment 0
This brought back memories from 2018 and my tour along the Gulf Coast
Heart 4 Comment 0
Historic Records are cool
Heart 2 Comment 0
I've learned a lot about mapping tools. An important lesson was that the Garmin GPS doesn't like large files - like 400 miles worth. It froze up on Day 1 making me use my backup "the phone" as the primary.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So, the Viking 1 and 2 are complete.  My warm showers hosts in St. Paul, have volunteered to store my Heavy Rescue Long Haul Trucker while I fly to Seattle to visit two of my sons and go to a Dave Matthews concert.

On September 7, I will return to St. Paul to ride Viking 3, 4 and 5.  Everyone I've talked to says it will be beautiful and educational journey - I believe to them!

Hugs to all and that includes Nita and Brian, my hosts in St. Paul; I'm so fortunate to know you both.  Thank you for your hospitality and conversation (and the evening ride to the outdoor concert!!!  See you on my return!

Heart 5 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerBrandon I love you.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 442 miles (711 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0