Sep 19 - Budapest - Meandering the Donau/Duna (Tour 12) - 2011 πŸ‡­πŸ‡Ί πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡° πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ή - CycleBlaze

September 19, 2011

Sep 19 - Budapest

I was awake first and it was already 7:51 am so I quickly dressed and went down for the excellent buffet breakfast. Among other things there was canned tuna and fresh tomatoes. As I munched I read 'The Help' which is excellent. I just cannot put it down.

I came back up to the room to read while Tom and Kevin went for their breakfast then we headed out into the city. We decided to walk, going to see the Parliament, St. Stephen's, the Stasi building (closed) with its Iron Curtain display and along numerous streets with huge boulevards. We stopped at a cafe for a snack where Tom paid with a 20,000 Ft bill and was shorted by 15,000 or about C$75. When Tom pointed this out to the server the fellow apologized saying he had had too many drinks, then laughed. It seems this is a standard trick here, too. What a place - great otherwise, though.

Now hot and tired we made our way back to the hotel, stopping in a local market where I snapped some photos of produce. I love markets. It made me think of the descriptions of food in 'A Christmas Carol'.

Once in the hotel we rested and read before going out to the big covered market that is similar to the St. Lawrence Market in Toronto, Nagy vásárcsarnok. Sadly it was just closing so we sat by the last bridge and ate dinner as we waited for the Mozart-Liszt-Vivaldi concert at St. Michael's church. The performance was only an hour and was 22 Euro but it was excellent. There was no encore so at 8 pm we were out into our first rainy night.

Exhausted, I cleaned my clothing then went back to my book. It was shortly after that we learned that we might have to adjust our schedule since our tickets were for an earlier flight than we had thought. Either way I would be fine since I would be happy to travel more but I would be equally happy returning home to see MA and the kids.

Little Bear surveys Budapest
Heart 0 Comment 0
A sad sight anywhere you go
Heart 0 Comment 0
And yet posh shops not that far away
Heart 0 Comment 0
I like nice doors
Heart 0 Comment 0
A Soviet-era monument sporting a sickle and hammer and a star
Heart 0 Comment 0
Exquisite figure on an exquisite cathedral - St Stephen's, Budapest
Heart 0 Comment 0
St Stephen's, Budapest
Heart 0 Comment 0
We stopped by this cafe... yes, a cafe that looked this fancy
Heart 1 Comment 0
A monument to the Iron Curtain outside of the former Stasi headquarters
Heart 0 Comment 0
Market Ap
Heart 0 Comment 0
Market AP
Heart 0 Comment 0
From a cafe across from the market in Pest
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stringed concert at St Michael's church - renowned for its superb acoustics.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0