Where now?: In Cuba recently and heading out again? - Meandering the Donau/Duna (Tour 12) - 2011 πŸ‡­πŸ‡Ί πŸ‡ΈπŸ‡° πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ή - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2011

Where now?: In Cuba recently and heading out again?

THIS has been a good year; I am so lucky. A few months ago my wife Marie-Anne and I went to Cuba to complete the tour we had started the previous year. A few months back a cycle-touring friend asked me a second time if I wanted to do a tour with him. Back a few years ago he asked if I wanted to join them for a tour of France's Loire Valley, but for some silly reason I declined. So, when Kevin asked again it was with nary a hesitation that I agreed to the offer to cycle along the Danube (Donau/Duna, depending on which country you're in).

Interestingly, it was back in 1992 that I chose the Danube for a tour though it was heading westward from Vienna. This time the route will be eastward. The last time I cycled in Europe was in 2003 when I completed the Istanbul to Lisbon ride (if you're interested, look it up on this website.)

Over the past number of years Marie-Anne has joined me on a number of cycle tours in Cuba and in southern Ontario, so it will be quite a change to cycle with someone else. I know Kevin and I'm sure his friend Tom will be great, too, though if they tease me too much I may have to find something to tease them about!

My two riding partners in this case are elite tourers so I am a bit concerned about my ability to maintain the elitism. Only time will tell.

Just before I leave showing the entire gear for two weeks of cycling. NOT the bikes though - I'm renting this time and hoping the bike will be ok.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is as beautiful as anywhere in the world - should I just stay home and sip wine here with MA?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view that is comparable to any place in the world.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0