Logistics: Getting a Bike on the Plane - Pandemic Purgatory - CycleBlaze

February 10, 2021

Logistics: Getting a Bike on the Plane

It is actually pretty easy if you're riding a folding bike like the Montague.  A lot of it depends on the airline, I lucked out with Juneyao Airlines which in my opinion is the best for China domestic travel.  

So the bike weighed in at 20kg which is just under the limit for baggage allowance.  No extra charges.  They did want me to go via the oversize baggage carousel which is rather standard.

I believe I can fly, I believe I can touch the sky
Heart 0 Comment 0

There were a lot of people flying despite the discouragement to travel from the authorities.  Still, I hadn't been on an airplane since March 2020 so wasn't sure what was all required now in the pandemic.  In short, there's  a lot you have to do:

1.  Health code check to enter the airport, in this case the Guangzhou code

2.  Temperature check, wear mask, etc..

3.  Pre-security check

4.  Check in and get boarding pass.

5.  Scan QR code, fill out health declaration form, mainly to indicate you haven't been to high risk areas

6.  Identity and facial recognition check.

7.  Thorough and strict security check.  They did confiscate several items.

8.  Temperature check on the ramp to the plane

9.  On arrival, health code check for Shanghai.  

This last step was actually pretty painless, and the same health code I use for daily life in Shanghai.  The other QR code generated from the form at the airport wasn't needed or asked for. 

So that's how you do it.  No need to quarantine for two weeks or forbidden to attend social gatherings like my coworkers had warned me about.  Let them enjoy their staycation.

If there were any issues, I had my negative covid test and vaccine certificate at the ready but neither was needed.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0