Teaching an Old Dog New Tricks - The Gut, the Bent, and the Ugly - CycleBlaze

Teaching an Old Dog New Tricks

Instead of providing a complete list of all the junk I will be bringing along, I will simply say that I have a few new toys.

Instead of using a disposable film camera, I'll be bringing along my wife's digital camera. It's positively ancient as these things go (3 or 4 years old) but it was nearly free. It is rated at only 1.3 megapixels, but I figure the quality of the pictures can't be any worse than a disposable. I bought a new memory card for it so I can take many more pictures than I otherwise would.

I will also be taking my Blackberry from work, but only because it has a cell phone. Yesterday, was my 50th birthday. My wife bought me a PocketMail Composer. It has a keyboard and small screen on one side and a modem on the other. I'll be doing my journal using the Composer instead of paper and pen or the Blackberry. This way I will keep my thumbs from falling off. I may need them to hitch a ride or something. I will be replacing my Zefal frame pump with a Top Peak Road Morph pump, which my sister-in-law, Leah Mayes, gave me for Christmas.

I found an old 700 X 35 Avocet Cross Tire in the basement. If I have room for it, I'll bring it along as insurance.

So, tomorrow, I have a long list of things to do: haircut, mow the lawn, mount the new pump, pack, etc.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0