So Much Soy, So Little Time - The Gut, the Bent, and the Ugly - CycleBlaze

August 29, 2005

So Much Soy, So Little Time

Bellefontaine, Ohio to Monroeville, Indiana

Last night was exciting; I ate a bag of popcorn and fell asleep.

Up before dawn, I had another sumptuous continental breakfast and headed out for points northwest. After three miles of riding around in circles under threatening skies, I asked for directions...twice. I was finally set straight and wearing my rediscovered goggles, I was on the road to Lima with a slight downslope and a light breeze at my back. I cruised along at 17 or 18 mph, pleased that the bike was now functioning well. I stopped reluctantly to refuel every 45 minutes or so. Speed is addictive.

Much of my early morning meanderings had been the result of trying to avoid US 33, a limited access highway. My backroads route worked well until a detour routed me onto US 33. I stayed on it only for a mile and was glad to see it fade in my mirrors. Semis doing 70 and rumble strips make for bad biking.

I pedaled on SR 117 through Huntsville, Roundhead, and Westminister and can safely say there is no there there in all three cases. The highway had numerous trucks, but it was a direct route northwest so I ignored the behemoths and stayed on it.

Lima was a bit confusing but I somehow ended up on Market Street which is lined with posh houses, as if on display. Many were for sale. It was a lovely street that brought me to a point of confusion. I must have missed a turn somewhere. Fighting my Y chromosome all the way, I asked for directions.

I was soon in Elida, somehow 5 miles to the Northwest of Lima. It was a nearly perfect routing purely by accident.

In Elida I turned on SR 309 to Delphos. SR 309 was more of the same; good heading, big trucks. I dined at Delphos' finest McDonalds, and with a cheeseburger, fries, and over 50 miles under my belt, I headed out for Indiana.

(In line at the McDonalds, I stood behind two men who were about as scuzzy as me, which takes doing I must say. They were cable installers. My apologies to the other folks in line; the three of us reeked like a pig farm.)

All through the trip, I came upon examples of beautiful architecture like this church.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This business in Van Wert sells artificial limbs. I had seen three other limb shops in Pennsylvania. You can make a good buck in mining and farming, but it could cost you an arm or a leg.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Now if you are ever inclined to take a bicycle tour be forewarned that the typical state auto map is woefully inadequate for finding back roads. The way to Van Wert was very straightforward, but once there I couldn't quite figure out where to turn. Knowing that the roads are a grid in these parts, I started to zig and zag my way to Convoy. After 30 minutes or so, I saw a water tower in the distance at 2 o'clock. Grain elevators, churches and water towers define American towns on the plains.

Convoy, OH. Where there's a grain elevator, there's a town.
Heart 0 Comment 0

From Convoy I headed due West expecting to hit a cross road and take that north well before the state line. I must have been counting soybean plants, because I soon came to a tee at the Ohio-Indiana State Line Road. In a half hour I was rolling into Monroeville IN, home for the night.

I saw dozens of these signs on the way to the Ohio-Indiana state line.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another state line in the bag.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The local townsfolk put up biker tourists in a building in the town park. The building was locked so I started to walk to the elementary school next door. A man on his porch across the street saw me and yelled out, "Hey, Jennifer, a biker needs in to the shelter."

Monroeville Community Park. The bikers' shelter is in the white pavilion behind the jet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lovely flowers at the Monroeville bike shelter.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Jennifer was talking to some kids in front of the school, which had apparently just let out for the day. The kids dispersed on foot and bike for their homes, and she came to my rescue. She showed me the shelter which has a kitchen, shower, laundry, TV, and cots to sleep on. Free. (They take donations, and will be getting one from me.) I read and signed the log book which begins with 1990. I recognized a couple of other bike tourists from their online journals including Dale Oswald, Kennon Brown, and Heidi Domiesen. I guess I can say I am now officially a bike tourist.

Tomorrow's forecast is for rain. So I may be here for a day. A note in the log book says that the town diner has an awesome breakfast. Sounds like a plan...

Today's ride: 94 miles (151 km)
Total: 694 miles (1,117 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0