Day 30 - On The Way - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

February 27, 2024

Day 30 - On The Way

Felt amazing to wake up and be motivated. It was good to have someone with me to get me going. Good to have someone to talk to at breakfast. Good to have a back to stare at while I draft behind him. Breakfast at the hotel was amazing like usual. We wanted to get going before 45 mph gusts picked up in the afternoon. We started in the dark and were stopped by many stoplights. Stopped at a gas station 6 miles away to top off our waters. I’ve made a promise to myself that my water supply will never go dry again. After that a man warned us about the highway to Kermit. Said the cars/18-wheelers are very dangerous. Thankful we had a very good shoulder. I’m starting to like Texas a little more. Wind was easy. We stopped at mile 14 and then 25. We climbed up to this hill then had a slight downhill pretty much the last 5-10 miles to the hotel and cruised at about 18-20 mph. So easy. I was also drafting behind dad pretty much the entire day. We stopped at a gas station to fill up on water cause the hotel would probably not be open as it was only 10:00!!! Earliest I’ve ever ended my day. Shortest day too. Felt real nice. Chilled out in the lobby then went to the room. I was exhausted but needed a run. Painfully me and dad slogged through 3 miles. After that we did some laundry for the first time on this trip and I came up and took a nap. I woke up after about 35 minutes cause I could’ve kept going for another 8 but wanted to sleep tonight. Called mom and then got some dinner at the gas station which is always incredible. Came back and chilled out. FaceTimed Hayden and lost once again in 8-ball. One day I’ll be coming for his 250 game win streak. But today I’ll let it settle. Gonna rest well tonight before probably the longest day tomorrow. Tailwind! (Hopefully)

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 2,253 miles (3,626 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Luke HubbardHey buddy just thought I should say hi. Saw your comments were empty so thought I'd add one. But I'm praying that you will remember the steadfast love of the Lord that never ceases, for His mercies never come to an end, they are new every morning, great is His faithfulness. Love you brudda!!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rachelle DennettI love that you have your dad with you! I keep checking in and enjoying your photos. I don't want to call because you need to concentrate and you have your dad with you. So enjoy the time together and can't wait to hear all about it. Miss you. P.s. you need to beat Hayden at 8-ball.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Lucy WilliamsHi Jude! It’s been so fun following your journey and reading your updates—it sounds like the Lord is doing some really neat things in and through you! Nate and I are praying for you and look forward to continue following along!
Love, Lucy & Nate (and Josie, Evie & Ollie :) )
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Luke HubbardAw thanks big guy. You didn’t have to. Love you and thanks for praying.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Lucy WilliamsThank you Lucy!!!! I’ve realized God is so much greater than I’ve ever known. Love you all :)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Rachelle DennettI beat him twice in a row! I can’t wait to see you all again. I don’t miss Texas but I miss Hamlin :)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago