Day 17 - I Don’t Wanna Worry - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

February 5, 2024

Day 17 - I Don’t Wanna Worry

I’m sorry again. Bad cell service and long days are not good for writing timely posts. Hoping no one had a heart attack waiting for me to post. Long day tho. Woke up in the hotel bed which was incredible. Had so much of the free breakfast then got things packed up and going. Checking out the receptionist said I looked much better (probably because I wasn’t drenched, muddy, and bloody) but we’ll take what we can get. Got going around 7 and was blasted with hills and 25 mph gusts and 15 mph constant wind at my face. Even downhills were a struggle. Listened to my body and took a lot more breaks. Stopped about every 10 miles or so. Got lunch and was feeling good. But then things started to go downhill. In the morning I was able to keep my breaks between 3-5 minutes. After lunch they turned into 10-15. I was running into more hills but wind died down throughout the day. Going up a hill I was almost at the top when my bike seized. Realized I shifted from the big ring to the small ring up front and it caused the chain to double back on itself. Tried pushing it down but it was really stuck. After about 30 minutes I realized I could move the front derailleur to get it unstuck. Finally got going. 10 miles later I got a bloody nose. Really frustrated at this point. Was ready to just stop. Finally got to my campsite after dark which I really don’t like. Really hard day but was able to call some people and made me feel much better. Set up my tent and got in and cozied up for the night cause it was so cold. Lost my headlamp. Hard and long day. Frustrating but there was some good in it as well. Of course the good is getting sleep. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 118 miles (190 km)
Total: 1,359 miles (2,187 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Wayne BartosikKeep it up Jude! Proud of you. Your friend at WN.

Mr. B
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jude HubbardTo Wayne BartosikThanks Mr. B. This comment made my day :)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago