Homeward Bound - Alps Wanderings of Chuck and Cory 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2023

Homeward Bound

We’re special

Geneva to Montreal:

We had a smooth time getting to our gate, except that my bag was searched at security for liquids that I forgot about. On our last trip to the Netherlands nobody seemed to care.  I had to repack my overstuffed backpack. This takes some effort:)  Oh well. We were early. 

Our flight:

Service Director Jason introduced himself and was quite pleasant. 

We had be upgraded to Business Class!  

On this airplane type that means a seat pod and lovely food and wine pairings. Texting is free so I asked Lisa for help with the wine selection. Apparently all the reds were good:)  I feared that there wouldn’t be time for the Champagne.   There wasn’t, poor me. 

The salmon was exquisite with a subtle curry sauce, with black rice and leek julienne in the side. The Spanish Crianza complemented the meal, as did the French Carbernet. 

It was lovely to have a Grand Marnier with the Cassis Marscarpone Cake for dessert. 

Jason gave me a couple of Miss Vickie’s chip bags and some chocolates to tide me over between meals. 

I tried to have a nap, and I could’ve ( I can nap anywhere), but elevated the seat back up and looked out at Newfoundland going past. 

The pre-descent snack was chicken slices and smoked beef, with sliced tomato and cucumber. And a fresh fruit salad.   Jason gave us a few snacks for our wait before the Toronto flight. 

Montreal to Toronto:

The Toronto flight was delayed by only 30 minutes, and then another 30 minutes. I was fully prepared for another series of delays, but we were fortunate.  
We were able to wait in the air crew lounge, where Cory met a former crew member from back when they were new. 
The gate area was a madhouse with 298 people getting on and 80 of us on standby, but we made it. 
In Toronto we breezed through customs with our carry on, and straight to where Nicki was waiting for us in Departures for a smooth drive back to Niagara. 

We hope to see our bikes again one day, but for now it’s time to recover from the vacation😀

***updated***

Yep! Upgraded to a pod!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dinner, before the main salmon dish
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cory getting used to his spot, during a switch of wines apparently.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pre-descent snack
Heart 0 Comment 0
Waiting for our Toronto flight in the Montreal crew lounge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0