Saxilby and Lincoln - Words From Off The Sea - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2022

Saxilby and Lincoln

Oscar's sport's day

 Today's is Oscar's sports day at school and I ride along the bike path into Lincoln and get a train at 9-ish to Saxilby. This has become something of a regular commute now.

 There's a Coop - a small supermarket - in Saxilby that incorporates the village post office and I ride straight there to mail off the mini SLIK tripod that got sold on eBay and while there I also buy some snacks. I've just got a Gorillapod now fr self-timed photos. 

 As I'm stuffing energy bars and a bottle of smoothie into my saddlebag, who should turn up in his van but Alan, Oscar's dad. We have a quick chat and off I go to the school's playing field, just a few minutes' away. 

 Parents are arriving and I get a front row chair with Ruby and watch as young boys and girls participate in egg and spoon races and a 100m dash. It's noon by the time the action comes to an end.

Oscar in the middle
Heart 1 Comment 0

 After a while back at Ruby's, I use my return train ticket to return to Lincoln, then make my way up through the shopping area and start walking up Spring Hill, a steep street that gets me to the top end of town. As I set up my Gorillapod to take a self-timed shot, who should drive down the hill in his van but Alan. What are the odds? 

 I call at a couple of friends' homes, but neither is at home. Once back at Dave's, I start looking into getting a Covid test, what with proof of being negative being required to be able to board a flight to Taiwan. I manage to book one at a pharmacy in town, but it seems the test takes a while to be processed and the problem is I need to have a printout the morning before going to the airport. It's a frustrating pain.  

Walking up Spring Hill in Lincoln
Heart 0 Comment 0
70
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 km (9 miles)
Total: 1,211 km (752 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0