Introduction - Words From Off The Sea - CycleBlaze

Introduction

The general idea

 

 This UK trip, like most people's overseas vacations, has been seriously postponed, but you know what they say: good things come to those who wait, and - looking on the bright side - the Covid-19 lockdown has certainly given me plenty of time to hone routes as well as find interesting places to add to the itinerary. Let's just say I'm now more than ready.

 The cycling part of my visit includes roughly week-long loops in Lincolnshire & Nottinghamshire,  Yorkshire, Norfolk, South Wales and Northumberland, and as the blog title suggests, there'll be sea views along the way. In case you're wondering, the title comes from a poem about Northumberland by Wilfrid Wilson Gibson (1878-1962)...

Land of singing waters,

And words from off the sea 

 I've cherry picked and - with the aid of Google Streetview and Ordinance Survey maps - sought out quiet roads and back lanes, with my destinations being places where there's a pretty decent chance of finding a bed for the night. My itinerary is eclectic: from 1960's brutalism and 18th century Industrial Revolution architecture, to traditional pubs serving a decent pint and charity shops where I may find a bargain or two.  

Won on eBay back in 2020
Heart 0 Comment 0

 I'm not flying with my bike and instead will use a second-hand mountain bike that I won on eBay back in 2020, which has since been stored at my brother's house in Lincoln. I'll simply fit a few bits onto it that also came from eBay, like a rear rack. 

 There are various things boxed up in Lincoln, like panniers, and it'll be interesting to see how well my clothing has survived. My last visit was in 2018. 

My base in the UK
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Kathleen JonesLooking forward to following along, Graham. And I admire how you find such good deals in charity shops and elsewhere. there’s already so much stuff in the world why buy new. I’ll have to up my second-hand game.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham FinchTo Kathleen JonesThanks, Kathleen

I'm not sure my updates will be regular, if at all, while in the UK, as I'm not taking my old EeePC notebook. It's basically had it after all these years. Also writing and editing photos tends to be a full-on job, one which would infringe on seeing friends and family, so I'm sorry to say you may have to wait until July before you see any posts.

Anyway, you'll be on my mind when I pop into a charity shop. The ones in the UK offer more variety than the ones here, so fingers crossed I should find something good.

Hopefully your house move went smoothly. You live in a nice part of the world.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen JonesAll good, Graham. And yes, the move went smoothly and we’re happily ensconced. I don’t feel like going anwhere else at the moment.

Tailwinds and dry paths!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonJust checking in, Graham. Did you make it across? Hope all is well with you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Graham FinchHi, Scott

I have been away and not ablle to use a omputer. I am fine here and have recently cycled in Yorkshire and the north of Norfolk.

All the best,

Graham
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Graham FinchHi, Scott

You have no doubt gathered I am not online much here. Debbie hasn't flown over and isn't coming. It's all down to Covid having exploded in Taiwan.

I see you're enjoying France.

I was in Wales last week and aim to go to Northumberland next week -- if the wetaher is kind. It's cool and wet here right now.

All the best,
Graham
Reply to this comment
1 year ago