Day 21 Surf City, NC - Two Far 2019 - Coasting Along to the Maritimes - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2019

Day 21 Surf City, NC

Heart 0 Comment 0

We started the day with breakfast at the Kure Beach Diner, where we had lunch and supper yesterday.  Everything we ate there was delicious.  I had the best biscuit I can remember since I had one made by one of my female relatives.  As good as the food was, the best part was our delightful waitress, Caroline.  She was our waitress at lunch and was there when we went back for dinner, as well as breakfast this morning.  Even with those long hours, she was bright, cheerful, friendly and just a pleasure.

Caroline
Heart 2 Comment 0

While I'm talking about great people experiences, there are a few more things I haven't remembered to mention.

When we got to the Red Roof  Inn in Myrtle Beach on  Monday, we were wet and stressed from the thunderstorm we had gone through.  We got there really early because we were trying to beat the storm.  When we arrived, the two women at the front desk couldn't have been nicer.  They let us park all our wet stuff in the lobby while we went to lunch, then let us hang out there for another hour until our room was ready.  It was more than just letting us stay there - they made us feel comfortable and welcome while we waited.  Red Roof Inn is not a place we would usually choose to stay, but this room was surprisingly nice - clean, well furnished and spacious.  And the price was right!

The next morning at breakfast, I had another memorable experience - this one unforgettable for the trauma it caused me.  I overheard a man (not a teenager, a grown, adult man!) say to his wife when I walked in "She looks just like Mama Rita".  Then, he walked over to me and said "Excuse me, Ma'am, but you look exactly like my grandmother".  GRANDMOTHER!!!  I've been told I looked like someone's sister, aunt, mother or friend, but NEVER have I been a dead ringer for someone's grandmother.  I guess that's my future :).

The last thing is another happy one.  When checking in at the motel in Shallotte, we had another especially warm, friendly welcome from the desk clerk.  Thanks, Cathy, it was nice to meet you.

Cathy
Heart 2 Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerSo cool to meet nice people!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

Back to our day today - it was just pedaling along.  We didn't have any places to visit today.  It was only 60 degrees when we left Kure Beach this morning.  We were very chilly!  The ocean was beautiful in the morning light.

Morning at Kure Beach
Heart 1 Comment 0

We had a lot of miles on busy roads with no shoulder, so we were really happy to get this wide shoulder on US 17.

A busy four lane road with a wide, clean shoulder can be a very welcome change from a less busy road with no shoulder.
Heart 1 Comment 0

We ended the day crossing the new bridge across the Intracoastal Waterway to Surf City on Topsail Island.   This bridge just opened in December, 2018.

Surf City from the new bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 744 miles (1,197 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Alain AbbateI've seen some very good looking grandmothers, but I definitely wouldn't use comparing someone to a favorite grandmother as a pick up line. Hope you recover from the indignity.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago