Day 63 Augusta to Dry Ridge - Two Far 2016 - Florida to Ontario: A Round Trip - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2016

Day 63 Augusta to Dry Ridge

Today we fought the hills and we won. It was our greatest elevation gain of the trip so far - 3200 feet (3800 by Team A's GPS -it must be more accurate!) in 52 miles. It was hard pedaling at times, but not brutal. If I keep at this, I may get over my fear of hills. The roads were excellent for cycling and the scenery was good. We rode through rolling, green Kentucky hills most of the day.

Kentucky hills
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kentucky hills
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kentucky hills
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kentucky hills
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kentucky hills
Heart 0 Comment 0

The area is very rural and we passed through only one town, Falmouth, all day. We were lucky to come upon a store/deli at Lenoxburg with very friendly staff. We had a welcome rest, a snack and got our water bottles filled. They're on Adventure Cycling's Underground Railroad Route and have started a log book of visiting cyclists. We were glad to be able to add our names to that list.

Team A lead the way today, giving us some motivation to keep up with them. They are strong and full of energy. They eat this big breakfast every morning. Maybe that's their secret. I have really tried, but I just cannot eat at 7 or 8 in the morning. (It could be because I'm still eating at 11PM and I don't give myself a chance to get hungry for breakfast, but I'm not giving up my bedtime snack!)

Team A in front - our view nearly all day!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Newly paved road - great riding - Team A still out front!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 3,011 miles (4,846 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0