Day Eleven - Fort William - Tom rides North Coast 500-ish, and then some - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2021

Day Eleven - Fort William

Some cycling, didn't record it though.

Again, I'm writing this weeks later, so apologies for the scant details...let's see how it goes.

I think this was the day where I'd managed to screw up what I was eating for breakfast. Neglecting to go the supermarket the previous evening meant I was instead eating a naan bread, leftover from the curry in Inverness. Oh well, it's not like I was doing much that day - such a paltry breakfast would have been much more concerning had I been riding a lot that day. Time spent working from home has taught me that if I'm distracted I don't actually seem to get that hungry until about 11AM if I don't eat. I suppose those that don't eat breakfast at all are a bit less of a mystery to me after all. I do think I get more "hangry" if I don't eat breakfast than I do if say my evening meal is late.

I resolved to set off in to town to have a look around, get some groceries, and generally just have another relaxed day not riding. Tomorrow was the day I'd be on the train down to the Peak District to see Dad and Val, my step-mother.

Damp patch under my sleeping mat the morning after 😮
Heart 0 Comment 0

On my first outing the plan was to get an ass-saver style mudguard to fit under my saddle, along with a grocery shop. Got to the cycle shop, which was about half way to the town centre...they were starting out some sort of beginner ride. What a great idea. What wasn't such a great idea was that I'd managed to leave my wallet in my tent. Genius. Chances that it'd actually be stolen while I was away. Chances that I'd have a little voice in my head repeating words similar to "Maybe it's not there when you get back!" until I retrieved it...high! I'm not sure how rapidly I actually cycled back to the campsite. First I overtook the riders on what I think were their mountain bikes. I then got distracted again by the steam engines nearby the railway station.

I find steam engines rather mesmerising
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

When I did get back to the campsite I of course checked my wallet was there immediately, and it was...phew! Crisis averted. I don't even have any payment cards on my phone at this point. I then went back to the cycle shop to buy my ass saver. It wasn't ass-saver brand but it saved the same purpose. Then went to the supermarket to get groceries, including lunch for the following day when I would be on the train. I considered pottering about town with groceries but decided that'd be not very enjoyable, so made a second trip back to my tent to drop off the supplies.

Campsite kitty
Heart 0 Comment 0
Campsite cockerel
Heart 0 Comment 0

Finally went in to the town centre proper. Wasn't sure what I was looking for exactly, but I thought it'd be nice to have a wander all the same. I ended up visiting what appeared to be an independent charity shop. They tend to be quite rare in my experience at least. It seemed rather upmarket for a charity shop, so it was an interesting visit. While I was in there I heard someone mention cutlery. Years ago I bought some Wedgewood crockery at a local charity shop. Some nice cutlerly would make a nice souvenir I figured...House of Fraser it was too, so it had a further Scottish connection. Fortunately it fit in my pannier bag, which was a relief. I figured if nothing else I could put all the stuff that usually goes in that pannier bag in t othe top bag. I usually try to keep my (rear) top bag pretty light and empty. I didn't think it'd be an issue cycling the mile or two from the campsite to the train station the next morning with a slightly wonky setup.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

So, what was I to do now I'd sampled the shopping delights of Fort William? Well, much a creature of habit, it was time to seek out a desk. Fort William had a library. I was probably a child the last time I'd visited a library that was not attached to a educational intitution. Up until this point I had been using my laptop in pubs and restaurants, but the problem there is there's plenty of distractions, no-where to plug in. For me being somewhere quiet is always relaxing. That doesn't always have to be a picturesque view with no-one around either. I used to strongly dislike the idea of sitting in a restaurant or pub on my own, but to go on these trips, needs must.

This library though, it was wonderful! Nothing unique about it I suppose as such other than the friendly staff, just the fact I had somewhere pleasant and warm to sit, I did not have to spend any money on a drink or food and then feel like I was loitering for hours afterwards. Clearly when you're nearby home, if you have a pleasant home then you can do this sort of thing there, but when travelling...libraries, invaluable! So I headed in, set up with my laptop, and charger. Swiftly I realised I needed the toilet. Cue leaving my laptop there (not my phone or wallet mind) while I searched for a toilet. Fortunately it was all there when I got back. I then spent the next hour or two writing I think. Also the person on the front door of the library was lovely, I ended up imparting some of my knowledge to her on pannier bags, I hope she's bought some by now and has found them useful. I love cycle luggage, it's all so practical. I think I've got over ten separate bags/containers at this point, especially if you include things I attach to my cargo bike and trailer.

The chap who was attending the main desk of the library, in his later years,  was pleasant too, he'd started the job recently and seemed to be enjoying himself. Just before I left he revealed this to me along with stating his day had gone well. I can certainly see the appeal of working in a library.

I remained there until just before closing time. Despite having my chair and table with me (back at the tent) it was more enjoyable to be indoors. Once the library did close, I rode back to the tent. I think soon after is when the rain started. "No matter" I thought, as the forecast stated it would be dry again by 7PM. I shall cook dinner at 7, so I spent the next hour or so in the tent. 7PM came and went, it was still raining. Time to cook in the rain then! In fairness it wasn't "rain" as such, lets go with "Heavy mist". Still frustrating to cook in though. Hey at least there weren't any midges! I resisted the temptation to eat with my new cutlery.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I think I ended up going to bed rather early that night. The train the next day would be leaving at 7:45AM, so I was very conscious of the fact that I needed to get up very early if I wanted to get there in time. Getting in to and out of the tent had become a military operation at this point, as there was a wall of wet bags (on the outside at least, fortunately) between my inner tent and outer tent. Everything in the inner tent had to be dry of course.

EDIT: Sorry, I haven't really thought of a good way to end this travel log. I guess I can say in hindsight that the weather was fantastic and I remember whole trip really fondly! 😄

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0