Day Zero - Leighton Buzzard to Inverness (Sleeper train, no audax for me!) - Tom rides North Coast 500-ish, and then some - CycleBlaze

August 26, 2021

Day Zero - Leighton Buzzard to Inverness (Sleeper train, no audax for me!)

Work was stressful getting what I wanted done in time before I finished for the day. Even had a bad ride home! A van driver decided to try and inform me how I should not have been taking the lane before I turned right down Lancot Descent in to Totternhoe. First they doused me with water (I hope/assume!) when I stopped to wait for them to go past on the pavement, and then I had the displeasure of encountering them again as I was leaving Totternhoe...and this time the passenger decided what better way to part ways than threaten me with a slingshot. Yikes.
Towards the beginning of encounter I pointed out their windscreen had a big crack on it. Pretty sure that's against the highway code (unlike my riding).

Managed to finish packing about an hour before it was time to leave the flat. As per usual ( I assume, it's quite a while since my last trip of course) the "did I pack everything?" anxiety persists. Upon opening my bag of wires, it turns out I've packed two cables to charge my Garmin rather than one. Hopefully if I do have any packing related surprises in the coming days it'll be two of something rather than something missing. As I write this in my sleeper train room my main concern (other than whether I'll sleep) is that I'll leave something behind. It's a bit harder to do that when camping.

Packed (I hope)
Heart 0 Comment 0

If you've got this far, well done to you, it's probably rather dry reading!
Mercifully the train from Leighton Buzzard was pretty empty. Medical grade mask equipped and several weeks past my second vaccination I felt relatively safe on the first public transport I'd used in over 18 months. I was wondering whether I'd made a wise decision going on this trip at all given the rocketing CV19 cases in Scotland. Vaccination effectiveness wanes over time though and seemingly the experts think it'll be with us with years to come if not forever. Well, I'm not going to cease going on holidays for years, and certainly not forever of course, so now seems as good a time as any (other than pre-pandemic of course. If I find a time machine I'll be sure to use it).

Had a brief chat with friend Jamie on my phone on the way in to London, which was nice. He commented that my bottles were clean! When I eventually get a dishwasher hopefully they'll get cleaned a bit more regularly. At least I only put water in them.

My room for the night.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Saw the sleeper train on the platform at the far side of Euston as the London North Western train rolled in to the station. Queued up to meet my "host", seems a bit of an elaborate name for train staff.

It's a queue. OK, the most artistic of photos.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Could have loaded my bike first however my bike is the most efficient means of moving my luggage, so bike to room first. Did that, was of course paranoid someone would run off with my bike as it waited for me on the platform.

In an alternate timeline, this is me with my Orbea and bikepacking kit. I don't think I'll be riding as fast as him. I will have a chair and table while I enjoy my camping spots though!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Brief confusion on where my card/key was for the room. When I did eventually come to load my bike, what do you know? Even the Caledonian sleeper train company can't get it right! I did have a reservation for my bike. I did tell them. What ended up happening do you think? Did the unreserved bicycle get turfed out? Nope...my bike's got its own room! Room N3. Photo to be taken in the morning. Tempted to complain just because I can if nothing else, however on the bright side it does mean that I don't have to worry about someone else walking off with it.
My neighbours are noisy and have ordered alcohol. Hopefully this won't be to the detriment of my sleep. Looking forward to sleeping under the stars and/or trees tomorrow, although I expect the bed I'm sitting on now will be more comfortable. That said I'll be in my new sleeping bag! Hope that helps me get a good night sleep.

My room for the night. Bit cramped, heaven help a duo sharing one of these with as much luggage as me!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Good grief this first entry is getting tedious. At least writing journals out by hand meant they were fairly concise. Off to bed.

P.S - My neighbours (at least some of which are American) have mentioned scooby doo several times now. I'm sure in decades to come when I read this tome I'll be pleased that I recorded this particular detail of my Sleeper train experience for prosterity.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0