Day 53 - ending at Wisner, NE - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2013

Day 53 - ending at Wisner, NE

Posted via email Sat Jul 6 07:38:02 2013 PDT

Up at 5:50am to an overcast morning. In spite of the light rain last night, the tent and ground were dry this morning. Packed and left at 7:35am. Took a path into town that went through a residential neighborhood, and passed an older couple out for a morning walk. I asked them about where to eat breakfast in town, and they gave me directions.

Arrived at Daddy's Country Cafe at 7:43am. Ordered two large pancakes, eggs, orange juice, and coffee. Also asked for a cinnamon roll, but they weren't ready yet. Was offered a scone instead, so went with that. There were several tables in the middle of the restaurant that seat eight. When I'd arrived, several men were at the back table, and it filled up as more men came in. Later women started arriving, and they filled up a separate table for eight. There was talk about yesterday's parade, and the speech no one was able to hear. I left very full at 8:52am.

Stopped at a fountain park to check on the location of the bike shop in Norfolk, who's address Kris had provided. Left there at 9:03am, getting back on US-275. It was still overcast, cool, with a south wind and me going east. That works. I didn't turn on the radio this morning - just enjoyed the pleasant ride. Passed by Oakdale at 9:45am, Tilden at 10:40am, Meadow Grove at 11:22am, and the road to Battle Creek at 12:19pm. Perfectly flat road.

At 1:11pm, I arrived at Norfolk's west city limits. Turned off US-275 at Norfolk Avenue to get to the bike shop. Arrived downtown at Cleveland Bike at 1:29pm. Was helped by a fellow who had just come on-shift. He brought up from the basement two Bontrager H5 700x38 (38-622) tires - the closest they had to the 37mm tires on my bike now. The new tires are "Hard-case Ultimate", so should work, if they'll fit. The salesman said bring them back of they don't, but I plan to be too far away when I put them on for that. The tires were $44.99 each. I also purchased two new tubes. So I should be all set to make it home.

Left the bike shop at 1:45pm, stopping at Norfolk's Central Park for a break. Their restrooms are painted with artwork. Left at 2:16pm, continuing south to get back on US-275. East of Norfolk are hills. I saw a sign going out of town for Tony's Steakhouse, nine miles ahead. That sounded good, I'll be hungry by then. Up and down, up and down. I finally arrived at Tony's at 3:55pm. Pulled up to a worker outside to ask if they were open. No, not until 5:00pm. The worker was concerned that I had enough water and wanted to know where I was headed (which was Wisner). He said there will be places to eat there.

I stopped at 4:15pm along the road to eat a snack bar. Found out that the Nature Valley Sweet & Salty Nut granola bars I like get sticky after a couple of days in the heat.

About two miles west of Pilger, there were a couple of downhills, then flat. Passed the road going to Pilger at 5:10pm. The shoulder of the road along here is falling apart, but there's road construction going on, so maybe that'll get fixed.

Arrived in Wisner at 6:16pm. Made it to the Dairy Keen at 6:24pm. Had a root beer float to start with, a pork tenderloin with chips, and another float after that. Left at 7:10pm, after getting directions to Wisner's camping park. Arrived at River Park at 7:20pm. Touring bicyclist Bill Fordyce, who I'd met just east of Chadron, Nebraska, on June 28, had told me then what a nice park Wisner has, and I agree. Beautiful large cottonwood trees everywhere. And camping is free for those with tents. I rode around awhile, figuring out where I wanted to set up. Finally chose a spot next to the Elkhorn River. Got the tent up and loaded with the gear. Checked the bike tires. Pulled out a few wires from the front tire. Then replaced one broken spoke (an original one that came with the bike). It's my hope that these old tires will get me to Decatur, Nebraska. I'm thinking about taking a day off there to do laundry, and would have time then to replace the tires.

There was a ball game going on at another area in the park, which got me wondering if they had a concession stand open. They did, so I bought a Pepsi and a Gatorade. Went to the rodeo arena stands to drink them and to start work on the report. It got dark and I got tired, so I headed to bed. With a short day tomorrow, finishing the report can wait until the morning.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $12.25 plus $3 (breakfast) + $4.08 (snacks at Tilden) + $109.08 (tires, tubes) + $10.43 plus $2 (supper) + $4 (drinks) = $144.84.

Day 53 - Neligh, NE to Wisner, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ wet rocks - Neligh, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Starlite Drive-In - Neligh, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ grain elevator along the Cowboy Trail - Oakdale, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ WJAG-AM radio tower - west of Norfolk, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ I want some ice cream . . . from a carton! +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ all set up at River Park - Wisner, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ my view from the rodeo bleachers at River Park - Wisner, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 2,203 miles (3,545 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0