Day 39 - ending at Pine Bluffs, WY - Tri-points on the Tri-speed - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2013

Day 39 - ending at Pine Bluffs, WY

Posted via email Sat Jun 22 06:55:02 2013 PDT

Woke up at 4:30am. Packed the gear and took the tent down. Ate ginger snaps for breakfast. Had the bike packed and ready to go at 6:40am, but then worked on yesterday's report, so didn't actually leave until 7:38am.

Continued on Grassland Road 807, going west. Today was the day to see Tri-point #12, but first I wanted to stand at the highest point in Nebraska. And before that I would check out the view of Pawnee Buttes from the map-indicated 'Overlook'. Turns out I had a better view of the Buttes from my campsite than from the Overlook.

Proceeded on Grassland Road 685. There is a good view of the area from here, and the BlackBerry signal connected strong. (There was no signal in the valley where I camped last night.) As I emailed in yesterday's report, I noticed truck traffic already on the road I'd be on this morning (CR-112). This road, and the road I turned onto after (CR-107), were no good for bicycling - too much loose gravel/dirt. Add hills and truck traffic to that, and I was walking a lot. Took a break at Grassland Road 681 at 9:38am, to eat a granola bar. My original plan had me camping along this dead-end road. The condition of CR-107 improved when I got out of the hills, and I was able to ride.

At 11:08am, I turned east onto CR-124. The wind had been light from the northwest, but changed to from-the-southwest at about 11:15am. At 11:30am, when I turned north onto CR-111, I noticed clouds forming to the northwest. Looked like they'd stay far enough north not to rain on me. Eight miles to go to be in Nebraska. This went fairly quickly - until at 12:12pm the bike and me (going slowly uphill) fell over after hitting loose gravel.

At 12:45pm, I entered Nebraska. I got to the road to the highest point, and read I couldn't bike or hike to it, due to bison in the field! If I had known this earlier, I could have saved myself eight miles! Oh well. I had to back-track into Colorado to get to CR-105, the road to Wyoming with access to the tri-point. The wind was now strong from the southwest, so going west on CR-136 was slow.

Wyoming greeted me at 2:27pm with pavement, and the dirt path east to the tri-point. I arrived at Tri-point #12 (WY-NE-CO) at 2:36pm. There is an NGS marker here on top of the monument. Also, a plaque telling about the point. Took pictures, then ate a bag of peanuts. I was now out of snacks and food (except for one can of Beanee Weenees packed away), and down to two full bottles of water.

I left the tri-point at 3:16pm, and was back on Wyoming's paved road (CR-164) at 3:28pm. On north 12.5 miles to Pine Bluffs, Wyoming, where I planned to spend the night. At 4:00pm, I pulled over, since I felt I was getting too close to the storm ahead. A short time later, the south wind changed to a strong east wind. I started moving again at 4:30pm, but progress was much slower now.

Arrived in Pine Bluffs at 5:40pm. The nearby bluffs do actually have pine trees. My first priority was to eat. Came upon the Rock Ranch Grill at 5:47pm. Had a Dr Pepper and the evening's special: 12-ounce prime-rib plus two sides (salad and mashed potatoes). Also had ice cream with caramel syrup and coffee for dessert. That filled me up. Left at 7:00pm for Pine Bluffs RV Park on the east side of town, but first stopped at the city park, under their new pavilion. I wanted to see (and maybe wait where it was dry) if the rain to the north and west was going to move here. Finally decided it was clear enough to go. Arrived at the RV Park and chose campsite #6 at 8:20pm, after checking several electrical boxes for service.

Got the tent up and the bike checked (no broken spokes today) just as the sun was setting. Watched the lightning as I drank another Dr Pepper (this one from the camp laundry room machine). I have sounds of trains and freeway traffic tonight, but that won't stop me from getting a good night's sleep.

Jeff

------------

Spent: $24.85 plus $5 (supper) + $10 (campsite) + $0.75 (soda) = $40.60.

Day 39 - Keota, CO to Pine Bluffs, WY
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ morning light - Pawnee National Grassland +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ "You are here" - Pawnee National Grassland +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ picnic shelter with a view - Pawnee National Grassland +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ bicycles on the grassland +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the trucks are back - Pawnee National Grassland +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ pull over for truck . . . +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ truck goes by . . . +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ wait for dust to settle +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ huh? +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ 4G along CR-107 - Weld County, CO +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ No Biking! +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ Wyoming welcomes me with pavement (CR-164) - Laramie County, WY +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking back west from the tri-point +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ my salad at the Rock Ranch Grill - Pine Bluffs, WY +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ my dessert at the Rock Ranch Grill - Pine Bluffs, WY +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ high school built in 1929 - Pine Bluffs, WY +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 1,597 miles (2,570 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0